Alabama’s Rivers Earns Paul W. Bryant Award At Crimson Choice Awards

  0 volleymob | April 19th, 2017 | College - Women's Indoor, News, SEC

The Alabama Athletics Department’s annual Crimson Choice Awards Banquet, presented by the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC), was held Tuesday evening at the Bryant Conference Center.

Senior swimmer Caroline Korst, the SAAC president, opened the celebration of Crimson Tide excellence by welcoming the gathered student-athletes, coaches, staff and administration.

Senior All-American and Academic All-American Connor Oslin and senior All-American and Academic All-American volleyball player Krystal Rivers were named the winners of the Paul W. Bryant Award given annually to the top male and female student-athlete. The Paul W. Bryant Student-Athlete Award was created by the Tuscaloosa County Chapter of the University of Alabama Alumni Association in 1985.

Other finalists for the Bryant Award included: Mike Oczypok  (Baseball), Corban Collins  (Men’s Basketball), Ashley Williams  (Women’s Basketball), Ross Pierschbacher  (Football), Robby Prater  (Men’s Golf), Lakareber Abe  (Women’s Golf), Kiana Winston  (Gymnastics), Jennifer Parker  (Rowing), Jordan Meier  (Soccer), Chandler Dare  (Softball), Bailey Scott  (Women’s Swimming & Diving), Erin Routliffe  (Women’s Tennis), Antibahs Kosgei  (Men’s Track & Field) and Lakan Taylor  (Women’s Track & Field).

Women’s Tennis and the men’s swimming and diving were honored as the teams with the highest grade point averages. Tennis earned the honor with a 3.774 team GPA while the swimmers and divers earned the distinction for the second year in row with a 3.462.

The Athletics Department’s community outreach efforts were also recognized during the event. Crimson Tide student-athletes gave almost 3,000 hours toward community service this year. Gymnastics was the women’s squad with the most community outreach hours while basketball earned the honor for the men for the second-consecutive year.

At the end of the event, the gathered student-athletes, coaches and staff honored former Director of Athletics Bill Battle for his numerous contributions to the Crimson Tide as a student-athlete and administrator.

Other Crimson Choice Awards handed out Tuesday night included:

Team of the Year – Football and Women’s Golf

Coach of the Year Award – Dennis Pursley, Men’s Swimming and Diving and Patrick Murphy, Softball

Comeback Athlete of the Year – Bo Scarbrough, Football

Athlete of the Year – Jonathan Allen, Football and Haylie McCleney, Softball

Rookie of the Year – Jalen Hurts, Football and Cheyenne Knight, Women’s Golf

Faculty Member of the Year – Dr. Ron Dulek, Professor of Management

Support Staff Member of the Year – Fern Hampton, Academics

News courtesy of Alabama Athletics.

Leave a Reply


Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!