Big Ten Powerhouses Pick Up Multiple AVCA Players Of The Years

  0 Carly DeMarque | December 07th, 2016 | College - Women's Indoor, News

This years AVCA Division 1 Regional Players and Coaches have been announced.

Each region has teams with their fair share of award winners. Nebraska took home the majority with seven, while Creighton, Wisconsin and Minnesota took home six and Florida five.

This season Nebraska had six outstanding players, which led the team to the Big Ten Conference title and John Cook to AVCA North Region Coach of the Year. Among those chosen for the Huskers, is Kadie Rolfzen, who has now earned this honor for the fourth time. Also chosen is the teams libero Justine Wong-Orantes, who is picking up the award for the third time and has earned the Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year.

As a Big Ten Foe, Minnesota had six players recognized such as Nebraska did, including senior standout Sarah Wilhite. Wilhite has had her best season with the Gophers in her last time out, having put down 481 kills and 4.18 kills/set. Sophomore setter Samantha Seliger-Swenson was another selection having dished out 1,328 assists this season for 11.55 assists/set.

Another Big Ten powerhouse and No. 3 seed in the NCAA Tournament Wisconsin took six awards from the AVCA. Kelly Sheffield was named the Northeast Region Coach of the Year. Standout senior setter Lauren Carlini was awarded AVCA Player of the Year for the fourth time. Molly Haggerty, after a stellar freshman season was awarded the AVCA Northeast Region Freshman of the Year.

Creighton is having a terrific season, making it to the Sweet 16 for the second season in a row, and coach Kirsten Bernthal Booth being named the AVCA Coach of the Year of the second consecutive year. Among those chosen for the Bluejays is Jaali Winters for the second time, and teammate Brittany Witt earning the AVCA Freshman of the Year for the East Division.

For Florida, a team that has recently been taken down by Florida State in the second round of the NCAA Tournament, has earned five AVCA Players of the year honors. Senior Alex Holston is among those chosen for the Gators, having earned the award for the fourth time.

Many of the players chosen are still playing in the NCAA Tournament which will continue with the Round of 16 on Friday which begins with No. 1 Nebraska taking on No. 16 Penn State at 12 PM ET.

In This Story

Leave a Reply


About Carly DeMarque

Carly DeMarque

Carly DeMarque has been involved with competitive volleyball for the majority of her life, playing competitively at the club and collegiate level for 15 years and coaching club for five. Now a retired Division I volleyball athlete out of McNeese State University, she continues her volleyball enthusiasm by stepping back into …

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!