Bruno Schmidt Named FIVB Beach Most Outstanding Player

  0 Carly DeMarque | October 28th, 2016 | Beach, News, Pro, Pro Beach

The 2016 FIVB awards have been announced, with Bruno Schmidt becoming only the fourth player to win back-to-back Most Outstanding Player award on the FIVB Beach Volleyball World Tour.

Schmidt joins fellow Brazilian Juliana Felisberta (2009, 2010 and 2011) and Americans Phil Dalhausser (2013 and 2014) and Kerri Walsh Jennings (2012, 2013 and 2014) as the only players to win consecutive Most Outstanding Player honors.

In addition to being named top male performer, Schmidt was also named as Best Defensive Player and Sportsman of the Year. Teammate Alison Cerutti was awarded the Best Hitter award this season. Fellow countrymen, Evandro Goncalves picked up the Best Server award, and Gustavo Carvalhaes won the Best Rookie award.

On the women’s side of things, Germany’s Laura Ludwig picked up two awards this season, being named as the women’s Most Outstanding Player and Sportswoman of the Year. Ludwig and partner Kira Walkenhorst won the 2016 Rio Olympic Games as well as the 2016 GIVB Beach Volleyball World Tour season point championship. Walkenhorst picked up the Best Blocker award this season for the German pair.

Among other awards handed out, three American’s picked up awards for the 2015-2016 season. Phil Dalhausser was awarded the Best Setter award. While teammates, Kerri Walsh Jennings obtained the Best Hitter award and April Ross with the Best Server award.

For the second straight season, Canada’s Heather Bansley was voted the Best Defensive Player.

Retiring Olympian, Nadine Zumkehr of Switzerland was awarded the Most Inspirational Player award, while teammate Joana Heidrich was voted the Most Improved Player, the first season awards for either players.

2016 Women’s Award Winners Men
Most Outstanding Player Laura Ludwig, Germany Bruno Schmidt, Brazil
Best Setter Larissa Franca, Brazil Phil Dalhausser, USA
Best Hitter Kerri Walsh Jennings, USA Alison Cerutti, Brazil
Best Server April Ross, USA Evandro Goncalves, Brazil
Best Rookie Eduarda Lisboa, Brazil Gustavo Carvalhaes, Brazil
Best Blocker Kira Walkenhorst, Germany Paolo Nicolai, Italy
Best Offensive Player Larissa Franca, Brazil Janis Smedins, Latvia
Best Defensive Player Heather Bansley, Canada Bruno Schmidt, Brazil
Most Improved Player Joana Heidrich, Switzerland Piotr Kantor, Poland
Most Inspirational Player Nadine Zumkehr, Switzerland Reinder Nummerdor, Netherlands
Sportswoman/man of the Year Laura Ludwig, Germany Bruno Schmidt, Brazil

Leave a Reply


About Carly DeMarque

Carly DeMarque

Carly DeMarque has been involved with competitive volleyball for the majority of her life, playing competitively at the club and collegiate level for 15 years and coaching club for five. Now a retired Division I volleyball athlete out of McNeese State University, she continues her volleyball enthusiasm by stepping back into …

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!