First 12 Titles Decided At Open National Championships

  0 Carly DeMarque | May 29th, 2017 | Club Volleyball, News


The first wave of the 2017 USA Volleyball Open National Championships has commenced, crowning 12 champions. There are still another 13 divisions playing for the top prize of the competition, with their finals being on May 31.

All matches were played in a best-of-three format. If a team came up through the loser’s bracket to make it to the finals of their division and won, a golden set was determined. From there, the winner of the golden set would take that division title.

The final 13 divisions will commence over the next two day, with the Men’s and Women’s Open Division titles being determined on May 30, while the remaining brackets will have their finals on May 31.

Men’s AA

  1. Legion (Southern California)
  2. Southside Bangers (Great Lakes)
  3. Luau Chicago (Great Lakes)

Legion took down Southside Bangers in a tough three set battle to take the Men’s AA crown 2-1, (25-23, 23-25, 15-11). The win ended their tournament with an 8-1 record, including three wins over Southside Bangers throughout the competition. One of the losses occurred in the winner’s bracket semifinals, but they turned around to take down the bronze medalists Luau Chicago to advance on into the finals match.

MVP: Legion’s Joshua Tuaniga

Men’s A

  1. Team Core (Badger)
  2. Team Bear Claw (Iowa)
  3. NFVB Crank Blasters (Western Empire)

Team Core was able to take down Team Bear Claw, but only through a golden set. Team Bear Claw fought their way back through the losers bracket of the competition to enter the title match. Team Core took down Team Bear Claw, first in a three-set match 2-1, (29-31, 25-23, 15-10). The victory, though, forced the golden set, which was won by Team Core 25-21. Team Core finished the tournament with an 8-2 record.

MVP: Team Core’s Kyle Buckley

Men’s 45s

  1. Balboa Bay 45 (Southern California)
  2. Fog Canada 45 Men (Canada)
  3. Pro Combat/Botafogo (Brazil)

Balboa Bay went undefeated in the competition in their route to a 2-0, (25-17, 26-24) victory over Fog Canada in the championship match. More impressively, Balboa Bay didn’t drop a single set throughout the tournament.

MVP: Balboa Bay’s Lloy Ball – a four-time Olympian and 2008 gold medalist with the U.S. Men’s Volleyball Team

Men’s 55s

  1. Kings Mountain Fog 55 (Northern California)
  2. Western States Laguna (Southern California)
  3. Fog Canada 55s (Canada)

Kings Mountain Fog remained unbeaten throughout the tournament, securing their perfect weekend with a 2-1, (25-22, 23-25, 15-11) win over Western State Laguna.

MVP: Kings Mountain Fog’s Pat Ryan

Men’s 65s

  1. Sao Paulo Masters 65M (Brazil)
  2. Kings Mountain Fog 65 (Northern California)
  3. Quiksilver Legends 65 (Southern California)

The Brazilian team of Sao Paulo Masters to the Men’s 65s division over Kings Mountain Fog in a 2-0, (25-14, 25-18) championship victory.

MVP: Sao Paulo Masters’ Gerson Oliveria

Men’s 73s

  • Rustys 73 (Columbia Empire)
  • Outback Steakhouse 73 (Puget Sound)
  • TeamSota (North Country)

Rustys was not able to secure their win in the championship match up, but their loss forced a golden set, giving them another chance to claim the title. After the finals match, a 2-1, (23-25, 25-17, 15-11) victory for Outback Steakhouse, the golden set was forced, giving Rustys their second chance. In the deciding set, Rustys came back to win 25-20 to claim the gold medal.

MVP: Rustys Gary Pfingsten

Men’s 78s

  1. MAC Magic 78 (Chesapeake)
  2. Highlanders 79 (Rocky Mountains)
  3. Rusty 78 (Columbia Empire)

In the oldest age bracket of the competition, MAC Magic was able to take down Highlanders in a 2-0, (25-18, 25-13) win. The win was a revenge match for the champions, as they fell to the silver medalists in the second round of pool play.

MVP: MAC Magic’s Mickey Maguire

Women’s AA

  1. CU ‘Olden Bears (North Country)
  2. Blue Ballers (North Texas)
  3. Angry Beavers (Rocky Mountain)

CU ‘Olden Bears took down Blue Ballers in a 2-1, (24-26, 25-18, 158) come back win. The win secured their undefeated tournament with an 8-0 record.

MVP: CU ‘Olden Bears Ellie Duffy

Women’s A

  1. Team Bison (North Country)
  2. Spank (Badger)
  3. Foxy Ladies (Gateway)

Team Bison dominated their championship match over Spank with a 2-0, (25-21, 25-13) win. The win brought Team Bison to a 10-0 record at the tournament, only being brought to three sets once throughout.

MVP: Team Bison’s Jennifer Lopez

Women’s 40s

  1. Fog Canada Masters 40 (Canada)
  2. Winnipeg Fog (Canada)
  3. San Diego Beaches (Southern California)

The Women’s 40s final was an all-Canadian dual, with Fog Canada Masters coming out on top over Winnipeg Fog 2-0, (25-21, 25-19) in the finals, but a golden set was forced. In the deciding set, Fog Canada Masters topped the Winnipeg Fog 25-15 for the title. Winnipeg Fog came into the finals with an undefeated record, defeating Fog Canada Masters in the second round of the tournament.

MVP: Fog Canada Masters’ Patrice Arrington

Women’s 50s

  1. Panama Jack San Diego (Southern California)
  2. Fog Canada Masters 50 (Canada)
  3. B.A.D. (Northern California)

After falling into the losers bracket, Panama Jack San Diego fought their way back into the finals to take the crown over Fog Canada Masters 2-1, (22-25, 2-16, 15-13). The finals match forced a golden set, which was won by the San Diego team 25-20. Fog Canada Masters entered the finals with an unblemished record, including a win over the champions in the winner’s bracket semifinals.

MVP: Panama Jack San Diego’s Cathy Noth

Women’s 60s

  1. Brasil Mix-60 (Brazil)
  2. WWConnect-60 (Rocky Mountain)
  3. BLT (Northern California)

Brasil Mix-60 rallied to take down WWConnect-60  through the help of a golden set. WWConnect-60 fought through a tough 2-1, (16-25, 26-24, 15-13) battle to take the finals victory, but couldn’t hold on in the deciding set, dropping the title after a 25-8 defeat.

MVP: Brasil Mix-60 Juliane Sperandio

Special Olympics

The Special Olympics Division was divided into three brackets (red, white and blue).

  • Red division – GA Henry County Gladiators def. Wisconsin Bad-Pack 2-0, (26-24, 25-21)
  • Blue division – Flyers ’17 def. Ohio Madison Tigers 2-0, (26-24, 25-20)
  • White division – Ohio Superstars won the pool with a 2-0 record

Leave a Reply


About Carly DeMarque

Carly DeMarque

Carly DeMarque has been involved with competitive volleyball for the majority of her life, playing competitively at the club and collegiate level for 15 years and coaching club for five. Now a retired Division I volleyball athlete out of McNeese State University, she continues her volleyball enthusiasm by stepping back into …

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!