Four Concordia-St. Paul Players Earn AVCA All-American Honors

  0 Carly DeMarque | December 07th, 2016 | College - Women's Indoor, Division II, News

The NCAA Division II volleyball tournament is in full swing with the quarterfinals taking place December 8.

With that, the AVCA has released their All-American teams. 15 players have earned AVCA All-American honors multiple times.

Of the many players that have earned multiple AVCA All-American honors: Riley Hanson of Concordia-St. Paul has earned her third and final AVCA First-Team All-American honors, as she has received the honors three consecutive seasons. Hanson is the the 19th players in Division II history to take home first-team honors three times. Teammate Emma Lange earn second-team and her third AVCA honor, as well.

Mallory Blauser (Angelo State), Morgan Hooe (Alaska-Anchorage), Malika O’Brien (Cal State San Bernardino),  Sarah Ragland (Palm Beach Atlantic), Hailey Roberts (Tarleton State) and Andrea Thobe (Wheeling Jesuit) have all earned their second AVCA All-American honors.

Earning their programs first ever All-American honors are: Madi Farrell (Northwest Nazarene, first-team), Lauren Frye (Eastern New Mexico, third-team) and Alison McKay (Simon Fraser, third-team).


2016 AVCA Division II First-Team All-America

First Name Last Name School Pos. YR
Mallory Blauser^ Angelo State University OH Sr.
Madi Farrell Northwest Nazarene University MB Jr.
Riley Hanson#* Concordia University, Saint Paul MB Sr.
Morgan Hooe@ University of Alaska Anchorage S Sr.
Malika O’Brien^ Cal State San Bernardino OH Sr.
Sarah Ragland@ Palm Beach Atlantic University MB Jr.
Taylor Reiss Southwest Minnesota State University OH So.
Hailey Roberts# Tarleton State University OH Jr.
Anna Schlaak Concordia University, Saint Paul OH Sr.
Allee Stelogeannis University of Tampa OH Sr.
Andrea Thobe^ Wheeling Jesuit University S Sr.
Hannah Tong The University of Findlay OH Sr.
Brandi Torr Metropolitan State University of Denver S Sr.
Annie Wolfe University of Nebraska at Kearney RS Sr.

2016 AVCA Division II Second-Team All-America

First Name Last Name School Pos. YR
Natasha Fomina^ University of North Alabama OH Sr.
Lauren Hackett& California Baptist University OH Jr.
Haley Kindall& Wheeling Jesuit University MB Sr.
Emma Lange^% Concordia University, Saint Paul RS Sr.
Eisha Oden Southwest Minnesota State University MB Sr.
Meghan Parker Angelo State University S Fr.
Jenna Perry California Baptist University RS Sr.
Morgan Rietzke$ Rockhurst University OH Sr.
Aly Schneider@ Lewis University MB Jr.
Brianna Sotello Angelo State University OH Jr.
Leah Swiss University of Alaska Anchorage OH So.
Kathryn Torre University of West Florida MB Sr.
Emily Tripp University of Arkansas-Fort Smith L Sr.
Sarah Vicory^ Washburn University MB Sr.

2016 AVCA Division II Third-Team All-America

First Name Last Name School Pos. YR
 Abby  Becker  Lewis University  S  So.
 Taylor  Bevis  University of Central Oklahoma  OH  So.
 Sara  Davis  Flagler College  MB  Jr.
 Lauren  Frye  Eastern New Mexico University  RS  Sr.
 Megan  Larson  Southwest Minnesota State University  S  Jr.
 Alison  McKay  Simon Fraser University  L  Sr.
 Ally  Rohn#  Palm Beach Atlantic University  OH  So.
 Alma  Serna  California State University, Los Angeles  MB  Jr.
 Stephanie  Sikorski  Ferris State University  S  Sr.
 Michaela  Smith  Metropolitan State University of Denver  OH  Sr.
 Torey  Thompson  Chico State University  S  Sr.
 Anna  Tovo  Florida Southern College  OH  Jr.
 Kasey  Williams&  Concordia University, Saint Paul  S  Sr.
 Tara  Ziegelbein  University of Nebraska at Kearney  MB  Jr.


# 2015 First-Team All-America Selection
^ 2015 Second-Team All-America Selection
@ 2015 Third-Team All-America Selection
* 2014 First-Team All-America Selection
% 2014 Second-Team All-America Selection
& 2014 Third-Team All-America Selection
? 2013 Second-Team All-America Selection
$ 2013 Third-Team All-America Selection

2016 AVCA Division II Freshman of the Year: 
Meghan Parker, Angelo State, S

2016 AVCA Division II Player of the Year: Announced at NCAA Banquet on December 7

2016 AVCA Division II Honorable Mention All-America

First Name Last Name School Pos. YR
Jaeda Allen Barry University OH Jr.
Bianca Alvarez Notre Dame de Namur OH Jr.
Rachel Andrews Sonoma State University MB Sr.
JaQuayla Baker Eckerd College MB Sr.
Tahlyr Banks Augustana University L Jr.
Kendra Bodine Northwest Nazarene University OH Jr.
Lexie Bradley University of North Alabama MB Jr.
Molly Burkhardt Palm Beach Atlantic University S So.
Allyson Cappel Ferris State University OH Fr.
Alyssa Carney Washburn University L Sr.
Bri Civiero Rollins College OH Jr.
Kennedi Coleman University of Arkansas-Fort Smith OH Sr.
Alli Cudworth Ashland University RS Sr.
Jayann DeHoog Cal State San Bernardino S So.
Elizabeth Dowd Shorter University OH Sr.
Ashley Drzymala Daemen College OH So.
Blair Ehrlich Stanislaus State OH Sr.
Diana Fa’amausili University of Alaska Anchorage RS Fr.
Allison Fowler New York Institute of Technology S Jr.
Alyssa Frauendorfer Wayne State College (NE) MB Sr.
Nickyla Garverick The University of Findlay MB Jr.
Mallory Grimsrud Adams State University MB Jr.
Raegan Grooms Armstrong State University OH So.
Kayleigh Harper Western Washington University MB So.
Krista Hassing Minnesota State University, Mankato MB Sr.
Elizabeth Hyland Lewis University OH So.
Ashytn Kapovich University of North Alabama L Jr.
Jordyn Keamo Tarleton State University S Jr.
Sarah Kelly University of Minnesota Duluth RS So.
Katie Klein Regis University RS Sr.
Sydney Kralj California Baptist University S Jr.
Hannah Kren Gannon University OH Sr.
Kayce Krucki Wheeling Jesuit University L Sr.
Brindl Langley Florida Southern College L Sr.
McKenna Larsen Winona State University S Jr.
Hope Lemon Saint Leo University OH Sr.
Tori Martella University of West Florida L Sr.
Karolina Moderova New York Institute of Technology OH Jr.
Lauren Nicholson Cal State San Bernardino OH Jr.
Gabby Olson Cedarville University MB Jr.
Hailee Olson The University of Findlay S So.
Abby Phelps Western Washington University OH So.
Sophia Proano Colorado Christian University RS Jr.
Diva Rivas-Reyes American International College OH So.
Abby Saehler Wingate University RS Sr.
Lindsey Smith University of Nebrasksa at Kearney S So.
Corisha Smith University of West Florida OH Sr.
Marissa Tandron Lynn Univeristy S Sr.
Jamee Townsend Saint Leo University L Sr.
Lydia West Lynn University MB Sr.
Sabrina Wheelhouse Central Washington University MB Jr.
Crystal Whitten Fort Hays State University OH Sr.
Alexis Wick Texas A&M University-Kingsville MB Jr.
Leanna Willer Washburn University OH Sr.
Arela Williams McKendree University OH Jr.

Leave a Reply


About Carly DeMarque

Carly DeMarque

Carly DeMarque has been involved with competitive volleyball for the majority of her life, playing competitively at the club and collegiate level for 15 years and coaching club for five. Now a retired Division I volleyball athlete out of McNeese State University, she continues her volleyball enthusiasm by stepping back into …

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!