Grand View Has 3 Players Named To AVCA Men’s NAIA All-America Teams

  0 Carly DeMarque | April 17th, 2017 | College - Men's Indoor, NAIA, News

The AVCA has announced their eighth annual AVCA Men’s NAIA All-America Teams.

This is the first season that the All-American team has been extended to hold 12 players on the team, along with an Honorable Mention All-American list. This is also the first season that the AVCA has introduced the AVCA Newcomer of the Year award.

This years selections are among the most diverse yet (it terms of positions):

  • 3 outside hitters
  • 3 setters
  • 2 liberos
  • 2 opposites
  • 2 middle blockers

#1 in the NAIA, Grand View, leads the field with three players selected to All-American teams. Lourdes, Missouri Baptist, Park and Warner each have two student-athletes mentioned on the lists.

Two players in the field selected have been named with four AVCA All-American awards – Grand View’s Pedro Cardoso and Warner’s Hui Ding. Three players have picked up their third award while two earn their second honor.

Cardoso, an outside hitter, averaged 3.47 kills per set on a .314 hitting percentage, adding 1.40 digs per set and 0.60 blocks per set. He is the only Grand View player to win the honor more than twice. Ding averages 3.49 digs per set and is the first player at Warner to earn the award four times. The two become the second and third players to earn AVCA All-America honors four times after Tyler Wills of Clarke achieved the first.

The selections were made by the AVCA NAIA Men’s Volleyball All-America Committee: chairperson Donan Cruz (Grand View), Sean Ostrander (Robert Morris), John Yehling (Missouri Baptist), Greg Reitz (Lourdes) and Steve Benson (Warner).


Name Institution Pos. Yr. Hometown
Daniel Arteaga*** Park University OH Sr. Caracas, Venezuela
Pedro Cardoso**** Grand View University OH Sr. Sao Paulo, Brazil
Hui Ding**** Warner University L Sr. Hangzhou, China
Kyle Foley*** Missouri Baptist University S Jr. St. Louis, Mo.
Daniel Jacobs Ottawa University RS Jr. Burbank, Calif.
Mico Janicijevic*** Missouri Baptist University OH Sr. Gornji Milanovac, Serbia
Tim Johnson Grand View University RS Jr. Chicago, Ill.
Martin Krueger** Warner University S Sr. Sachsen-Anhalt, Germany
Ryan Maune Lourdes University MB RS-Jr. Washington, Mo.
CJ Rilveria Lourdes University L Sr. Kula, Hawai’i
Felipe Rosa** Grand View University S Jr. Sao Paulo, Brazil
Oscar Tuero Park University MB So. Santi Spiritus, Cuba

*Denotes number of years named an AVCA NAIA Men’s All-American


Name Institution Pos. Yr. Hometown
Isaiah Acfalle Clarke University OH Sr. Hollister, Calif.
Henrik Falck Lauten Warner University OH So. Drammen, Norway
Cameron Hibbler Missouri Baptist University MB So. Manchester, Mo.
Paris McFall Robert Morris College (IL) RS Sr. Maywood, Ill.
Connor O’Ryan Cardinal Stritch University MB Sr. Elmhurst, Ill.
Murilo Pereira Park University MB Sr. Curitiba, Brazil
Luke Pope Ottawa University S Jr. Long Beach, Calif.
Peyton Schirman Briar Cliff University OH Jr. San Diego, Calif.
Dalton Tucker Robert Morris College (IL) L Sr. White Hall, Ill.

AVCA NAIA Men’s National Player of the Year: Announced at the NAIA Banquet on Wednesday, April 19.

AVCA NAIA Newcomer of the Year: Luke Pope, Ottawa, S

The award ceremony for the NAIA tournament will be held on Wednesday, April 19, with the play-in matches beginning that day. The next rounds of the tournament begin on April 20-22, with the title match on April 22. You can find all the links for the NAIA National Invitational tournament, here.

Leave a Reply


About Carly DeMarque

Carly DeMarque

Carly DeMarque has been involved with competitive volleyball for the majority of her life, playing competitively at the club and collegiate level for 15 years and coaching club for five. Now a retired Division I volleyball athlete out of McNeese State University, she continues her volleyball enthusiasm by stepping back into …

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!