Joan Powell Wins 2018 “Frier” Award from USA Volleyball

  0 Braden Keith | June 05th, 2018 | Club Volleyball, High School, News, NORCECA volleyball, U.S. Men's National Team, U.S. Women's Volleyball

USA Volleyball has honored Joan Powell with the 2018 Harold T. Friermood “Frier” Award during its annual recognition banquet on in May in Dallas during the 2018 Open Championships. The award, which USA Volleyball considers its highest honor, is named after Friermood, the award’s first recipient in 1965, USA Volleyball’s second president, and one of the primary drivers behind volleyball being made an Olympic sport.

The award is a lifetime-achievement honor of sorts, recognizing those from every side of the sport, including administration, who have contributed to the sport in the United States.

Powell has been an active member of USA Volleyball since 1974 – the year after she graduated college. As a player, her Colorado Connections team won 3 USA Volleyball Open National Championships in the 30 & over division and she has been selected as a USA Volleyball All-American 5 times. She was a PAVO nationally certified official for almost 40 years, and was active as a USA Volleyball national referree for 27 years. That includes officiating the NCAA Division I, Division II, and Division III Championships, with her last coming in 2009.

She 5-times served as president of the Professional Association of Volleyball Officials (PAVO) and in 2011 was chosen as the NCAA’s first national coordinator of officials for volleyball. In 2016, she took over the same role for the Pac-12 Conference.

Powell has served on the USA Volleyball Board of Directors and was previously a member of USA Volleyballs Rules Committee. In 2008, the USOC senter her to Beijing as the team leder for the U.S. Olympic Women’s Volleyball Team. She coached in high school in Colorado for 30 years and led Coronado High School to 4 state championships. In 1998, she was named the Disney Teacher of the Year.

“Absolutely humbling to be among the group of Frier award winners,” Powell said after being introduced as the 2018 Frier recipient and what it means to her being added to that list of volleyball’s legends. “That group of people and what they have done for the sport of volleyball… I am the recipient of what those people did for this great game. No award necessary. Being introduced to this game, and for them being the care givers of the game provided me great opportunities. Wow. Wow.”

Awards Presented at Boyce Banquet
Harold T. Friermood “Frier” Award: Joan Powell
Tom Haine All-Time Great Player Award (Indoor): John Brame
Flo Hyman All-Time Great Player Award (Indoor): Polly Lowery Simmons
All-Time Great Player Award (Beach): Randy Stoklos
Donald S. Shondell All-Time Great Coach (Contemporary Division): Anna Collier
Bertha Lucas All-Time Great Coach (Pioneer Division): Jeff Mozzochi
George J. Fisher Leader in Volleyball: Steve Robb
George J. Fisher Leader in Volleyball: Lynne Updegraff
Wilbur H. Peck Referee Emeritus Award: Doug Wilson
Junior Service Award – Outstanding Program Director: Dan Smith
Junior Service Award – Outstanding Male Coach: Joe Hovanes
Junior Service Award – Outstanding Female Coach: Karen Schmitz
Junior Service Award – Outstanding Parent Award: Kathy Gettinger
Junior Service Award – Outstanding Service Award: Joe Thomas
Junior Service Award – Outstanding Clinician: Sarah E. Hammers
Junior Service Award – Outstanding Referee: John Bear
Junior Service Award – Outstanding Scorer: Lauren Lange

All-Time Frier Award Recipients:

  • 1965 Dr. Harold T. Friermood
  • 1968 Harry E. Wilson
  • 1969 Viggo O. Nelson
  • 1971 Dr. W.P. Burroughs
  • 1972 E. Douglas Boyden
  • 1973 Dr. Marshall L. Walters
  • 1975 Dorothy C. Boyce
  • 1976 Edward A. Heisler
  • 1977 Merton H. Kennedy
  • 1978 Edward B. DeGroot, Jr.
  • 1979 Leonard Gibson
  • 1980 Wilbur H. Peck
  • 1981 Bertha H. Lucas
  • 1983 Dr. Murray Koorhan
  • 1984 William Walter Baird
  • 1985 C.L. “Bobb” Miller
  • 1986 Glen G. Davies
  • 1987 John B. Koch
  • 1989 Robert L. Lindsay
  • 1990 Roger G. Burton
  • 1991 Ann Davenport
  • 1992 Donald S. Shondell
  • 1993 Lea S. Wagner
  • 1994 Russell J. Sherman
  • 1995 Harold W. “Buck” Buckner
  • 1996 Dr. Karen M. Johnson
  • 1997 Arthur “Bud” Fields
  • 1998 Albert M. Monaco, Jr.
  • 1999 Thomas E. Slaymaker
  • 2000 Patricia Ann Murray McChesney
  • 2001 Ken Erickson
  • 2002 Joseph Sharpless, Dr. James E. Coleman (posthumously)
  • 2003 Gary J. Colberg
  • 2004 Peter J. Dunn
  • 2005 Stewart L. McDole
  • 2006 Rebecca B. Howard
  • 2007 Douglas P. Beal, Ph.D.
  • 2008 Chuck Stemm
  • 2009 Hank Van Arsdale
  • 2010 Susan True
  • 2011 Fred Wendelboe
  • 2012 Mike Hulett
  • 2013 Kevin Twohig
  • 2014 Tom Blue
  • 2015 Kerry J.W. Klostermann
  • 2016 Dr. Cecile Reynaud
  • 2017 Margie Mara
  • 2018 Joan Powell

Leave a Reply


About Braden Keith

Braden Keith

Braden Keith is the Editor-in-Chief and co-founder of Braden's first foray into sports journalism came in 2010, when he launched a swimming website called The Swimmers' Circle. Two years later, he joined as a co-founder. Long huge fans of volleyball, when Braden and the SwimSwam partners sought an opportunity to …

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!