Long Beach State Has 5 Named To 2017 AVCA Men’s All-America Teams

  0 Carly DeMarque | May 01st, 2017 | College - Men's Indoor, Conference Carolinas, EIVA, MIVA, MPSF, News

The AVCA has announced their 2017 Division I-II Men’s All-America teams, with Long Beach State garnering five players on the list.

After one of their programs best years, Long Beach State has five players honored as All-Americans. Next in line are Ohio State and Hawaii with three honored and UC Irvine had two players.

Four of Long Beach State’s five honorees earned First Team accolades – TJ DeFalco, Amir Lugo-Rodriguez, Andrew Sato and Josh Tuaniga – with Kyle Ensing earning Second-Team honors.  DeFalco and Tuaniga are now two-time AVCA All-Americans. Sato earns the only libero spot in the First-Team All-American list.

Loyola-Chicago’s Jeff Jendryk is the only Rambler to earn AVCA All-American honors three times. Jendryk was named to the First-Team in 2015, Second-Team in 2016 and against to the First-Team in 2017.

Earning this years, AVCA Newcomer of the Year is Lewis’ Ryan Coenen who has produced 3.20 kills per set on a .288 hitting percentage this season. Coenen also garnered MIVA Co-Freshmen of the Year honors and earlier this season the VolleyMob National Player of the Week.


TJ DeFalco* Long Beach State University OH So. Huntington Beach, Calif.
Jennings Franciskovic University of Hawai’i S Sr. Westlake Village, Calif.
Jeff Jendryk+^ Loyola University Chicago MB Jr. Wheaton, Ill.
Miles Johnson* Ohio State University RS Sr. Carlsbad, Calif.
Jake Langlois+ Brigham Young University OH Sr. San Jose, Calif.
Amir Lugo-Rodriguez Long Beach State University MB Sr. South Pasadena, Calif.
Andrew Sato Long Beach State University L Sr. Calabasas, Calif.
Nicolas Szerszen* Ohio State University OH Jr. Conflans Ste Hne, France
Josh Tuaniga+ Long Beach State University S So. Long Beach, Calif.
Stijn van Tilburg University of Hawai’i RS So. Amsterdam. Netherlands


Jake Arnitz+ UCLA OH Jr. Yorba Linda, Calif.
Christy Blough+ Ohio State University S Sr. Ontario, N.Y.
Ryan Coenen Lewis University OH RS-Fr. Franklin, Wis.
Kyle Ensing Long Beach State University RS So. Valencia, Calif.
Jabarry Goodridge New Jersey Institute of Technology OH Sr. Bridgetown, Barbados
Tamir Hershko% UC Irvine OH Sr. Hod Ha’Sharon, Israel
Chris Nugent Penn State University OH Sr. Fair Lawn, N.J.
Michael Saeta UC Irvine S Sr. South Pasadena, Calif.
Larry Tuileta University of Hawai’i L So. Honolulu, O’ahu, Hawai’i
Lucas Yoder University of Southern California OH Sr. San Clemente, Calif.

TeamSnap/AVCA Division I-II Men’s National Player of the Year: Announced at NCAA Championship Banquet on May 3.

AVCA Division I-II Men’s Newcomer of the Year: Ryan Coenen, Lewis, OH

* – 2016 AVCA Division I-II Men’s First-Team All-America selection
+ – 2016 AVCA Division I-II Men’s Second-Team All-America selection
^ – 2015 AVCA Division I-II Men’s First-Team All-America selection
% -2015 AVCA Division I-II Men’s Second-Team All-America selection
$ – 2014 AVCA Division I-II Men’s First-Team All-American selection
! – 2014 AVCA Division I-II Men’s Second-Team All-America selection


Joshua Ayzenberg Sacred Heart University L Jr. Long Beach, N.Y.
Andy Benesh University of Southern California MB Sr. Rancho Palos Verdes, Calif.
Gabriel Domecus Ohio State University L Sr. Vallejo, Calif.
Leo Durkin Brigham Young University S Jr. Las Vegas, Nev.
Evan Enriques Stanford University L Jr. Punalu’u, Hawai’i
Arvis Greene CSUN RS Jr. Los Angeles, Calif.
Driss Guessous Ohio State University MB RS-Sr. Pasadena, Calif.
Thomas Hodges UC Irvine OH Sr. Melbourne, Australia
Dillon Hoffman UC Irvine L Sr. San Clemente, Calif.
Price Jarman Brigham Young University MB Jr. Las Vegas, Nev.
Vasilis Mandilaris Barton College OH So. Chalkida, Greece
Calvin Mende Penn State University RS RS-Fr. Redlands, Calif.
Hendrik Mol University of Hawai’i MB Sr. Sand, Norway
Mitch Perinar Lewis University RS RS-So. Channahon, Ill.
Kevin Rakestraw Stanford University MB RS-Jr. Newport Beach, Calif.
Brenden Sander Brigham Young University OH Jr. Huntington Beach, Calif.
Michael Simmons Lewis University L RS-So. Aurora, Ill.
Jeff Sprayberry King University (TN) OH Jr. Oak Forest, Ill.
Scott Stadick UC Irvine MB Fr. Watertown, Wis.
Mitch Stahl UCLA MB Sr. Chambersburg, Pa.
Matt Szews Ball State University RS Fr. Brookfield, Wis.
Matt Walsh Ball State University MB Jr. Chicago, Ill.
David Wieczorek Pepperdine University OH RS-So. Chicago, Ill.
Matt Yoshimoto Lewis University S So. Ventura, Calif.
Bryce Yould Long Beach State University MB Sr. Laguna Niguel, Calif.

Leave a Reply


About Carly DeMarque

Carly DeMarque

Carly DeMarque has been involved with competitive volleyball for the majority of her life, playing competitively at the club and collegiate level for 15 years and coaching club for five. Now a retired Division I volleyball athlete out of McNeese State University, she continues her volleyball enthusiasm by stepping back into …

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!