Ohio State’s Christy Blough Earns Big Ten Medal Of Honor

  0 volleymob | April 26th, 2017 | College - Men's Indoor, MIVA, News

Ohio State men’s volleyball senior Christy Blough and synchronized swimming senior Emma Baranski have been named the winners of the Big Ten Medal of Honor.

Blough steered the Ohio State men’s volleyball program to the 2016 NCAA national championship, and has positioned the Buckeyes as the 2017 NCAA Tournament’s number one seed. He ranks inside the Top 5 all-time in school history with over 4,000 career assists to his name. The 2016 AVCA All-America Second Team selection jumped up to the first team for Academic All-America squad. Blough cleaned up at the 2017 OSU Scholar-Athlete Banquet, named the recipient of both the Corwin A. Fergus Memorial Award and Varsity O Scholarship, in addition to his finalist status for the Big Ten Medal of Honor.

Blough is the fifth OSU men’s volleyball player to pick up the Big Ten Medal of Honor and the second to also win a national title (Steven Kehoe, 2011).

Baranski completed her tremendous career as a four-time All-American and is the back-to-back solo national champion. She also won a duet national title, was part of two team event national titles, is a technical event national champion and helped lead the Buckeyes to a pair of overall national titles. Baranski was the High Point Award winner each of the last two years at the U.S. Collegiate Championship and was named the 2017 U.S. Synchronized Swimming Collegiate Student-Athlete of the Year. Out of the pool, Baranski is a three-time member of the U.S. Collegiate All-Academic Team and a four-time OSU Scholar-Athlete.

Baranski is the seventh synchronized swimmer to earn the Big Ten Medal of Honor and the first since 2003. She will compete this summer for Team USA in the FINA World Championships in Budapest.

News courtesy of Ohio State Athletics.

Leave a Reply


Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!