Russia Looks To Reclaim Top Spot At 2017 Men’s U21 World Championship

  0 Carly DeMarque | June 21st, 2017 | African Volleyball, Asian Volleyball, Brazilian Volleyball, Canadian Volleyball, European volleyball, International Volleyball, News, NORCECA volleyball, South American Volleyball, U.S. Men's National Team

2017 Men’s U21 World Championship

The 19th edition of the Men’s U21 World Championships is set to begin in just one day in Brno and České Budějovice in the Czech Republic. The competition is held every two years, with Russia dominating the past three editions.

There is a total of 16 teams that qualified for the tournament including six from the CEV, three from NORCECA, three from AVC, two from CSV and two from CAVB.

Pool A – The Czech Republic, Poland, Canada, Morocco

Pool B Russia, Turkey, USA, Cuba

Pool C Argentina, Italy, Iran, Ukraine

Pool D China, Brazil, Egypt, Japan


  • First Round Pool Play – June 23-25
  • Second Round Pool Play – June 27-29
  • Semifinals – July 1
  • Finals – July 2

Following the first round of pool play, the teams will be reseeded for the second round to be played after a days rest. After the conclusion of the second round, the top ranking teams will move on and compete in the semifinals then the finals. If a team does not make it to the semifinals, they will be allocated to a classification match to determine their finish in the tournament.


The top six teams in the FIVB World Rankings for the division as of January 2017 were automatically selected to be a part of the competition, not having to qualify.

  1. Russia
  2. Italy
  3. Turkey
  4. Canada
  5. Japan
  6. Morocco

In the AVC, China and Iran qualified at the 2016 Asian Men’s U21 Championships, with China taking first place while Iran fell in second to qualify. Egypt grabbed their qualification through winning the 2017 Africa Men’s U21 Championship.

The Czech Republic is the host country of the event, therefore earning an automatic bid. At the European Qualification Tournament, the Ukraine won the tournament, earning their spot in the World Championships, while Poland fell in second place to earn their bid.

The CSV took two tournaments to determine their qualified teams – Argentina through the 2016 South American Men’s U21 Championship and Brazil through the Men’s U21 Pan American Cup 2017. The NORCECA qualified teams were the same way, taking two tournaments to qualify teams – USA through the 2016 NORCECA Men’s U21 Championship and Cuba through the Men’s U21 American Cup.

Leave a Reply


About Carly DeMarque

Carly DeMarque

Carly DeMarque has been involved with competitive volleyball for the majority of her life, playing competitively at the club and collegiate level for 15 years and coaching club for five. Now a retired Division I volleyball athlete out of McNeese State University, she continues her volleyball enthusiasm by stepping back into …

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!