Springfield Enters Division III National Tournament As #1 Seed

  0 Carly DeMarque | April 18th, 2017 | College - Men's Indoor, Division III, News

The 2017 NCAA Division III Men’s Volleyball Championship bracket has been released with 12 teams vying for this years title. The first round of competition will be played on Saturday, April 22 at the host colleges campus.

Springfield earned the #1 seed in the tournament with a first round bye match.  The Pride will face off against the winner of the first round match of Hunter and Penn State-Altoona.

On the same side of the bracket as Springfield is #4 seeded Dominican, who will face the winner of Stevens and Endicott.

On the other side of the bracket, #3 seeded Vassar will take on the winner of the Kean and SUNY New Paltz match-up while #2 Wentworth will face the winner of Juniata and NYU.

Springfield has been the #1 seed three times (2012, 2013, 2014) all three seasons that they took home the national title and have won a total of nine Division III National Championships, including five in the past nine seasons. The past two seasons, Springfield has come up short, taking home the runner-up position after falling to Stevens Institute in 2015 and SUNY New Paltz in 2016.

The national quarterfinals will be held at Springfield on April 28, with the semifinals to follow on April 29 and the champion will be crowned on April 30.


Leave a Reply


About Carly DeMarque

Carly DeMarque

Carly DeMarque has been involved with competitive volleyball for the majority of her life, playing competitively at the club and collegiate level for 15 years and coaching club for five. Now a retired Division I volleyball athlete out of McNeese State University, she continues her volleyball enthusiasm by stepping back into …

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!