241 Volleyball Players Honored with Academic All-District Selection

  0 Wendy Mayer | November 16th, 2017 | Big Ten, College - Women's Indoor, Division II, NAIA, NCAA D3, News, NJCAA

Two-hundred and forty-one volleyball players across Division I, II, III and NAIA, Canadian and two-year schools were named as Academic All-District honorees by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA).

Sixty-eight Division I players, 72 Division II players, 66 Division III players and 35 College Division players (which spans NAIA, Canadian and two-year schools) were so honored.

By virtue of the selections, the student-athletes are now eligible for Academic All-America honors, which will be awarded later in the season.

Each division is broken into districts, separated by region of the country.

The full list of honorees is here.

Honorees include five returning Academic All-Americans

  • Ashley Evans, Purdue – Academic All-America second team 2016, third team 2015
  • Lily Johnson, Missouri State – Academic All-America second team 2016
  • Jaelyn Keene, Illinois State – Academic All-America second team 2016
  • Kelsey Bittinger, Kent State – Academic All-America third team 2016
  • Haleigh Washington – Penn State – AVCA All-America first team 2016; Academic All-America third team 2016


Other highlights from the Division I ranks include:

  • Amanda Carroll, FGCU – Atlantic Sun Co-Player of the Year
  • Kristi Piedimonte, Kennesaw State – Atlantic Sun Setter of the Year
  • Chloe Rojas, Eastern Kentucky – Ohio Valley Defensive Player of the Week
  • Kristen Stucker, Austin Peay – Ohio Valley Setter of the Year
  • Patricia Mattingly, Navy – Patriot League Setter of the Year
  • Catie Cronister, Wofford – SoCon Co-Player of the Year


From Division II, only Lauren Hackett from Cal Baptist is a returning Academic All-America honoree, earning second team honors in 2016.

From Division III, Jenna Lodweyk of Calvin and Haley Bergan from Loras College return to the list after earning Academic America nods in 2016. Lodweyk was a second team honoree, while Bergan was a third team selection. In 2017, Lodweyk was named as an AVCA All-America second team honoree.

From the college division ranks, Katie Placke (Hastings College) and Makenzie Montano (Lindsey Wilson College) were first and second team Academic All-America recepients in 2016.

Leave a Reply


About Wendy Mayer

Wendy Mayer

Wendy Mayer has worked in athletics media relations for the last 20 years. The Northwest Missouri State alumna is currently senior writer for Volleymob.com after spending the last 15 years with Purdue athletics.

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!