FIVB Will Announce Hosts for 2022 World Championships in November

  0 Braden Keith | September 04th, 2018 | Asian Volleyball, Brazilian Volleyball, Canadian Volleyball, European volleyball, Industry, International Volleyball, News, NORCECA volleyball, South American Volleyball, U.S. Men's National Team, U.S. Women's Volleyball

FIVB has announced the launch of bidding on Monday to host the 2022 FIVB Volleyball World Championships. An expression of interest is due no later than September 30th, 2018 and the FIVB will announce its decision at the 2018 FIVB World Congress , which will be held in Punta Cana, Dominican Republic in November.

FIVB President Dr Ary Graça, said: “As the 2018 FIVB World Championships start with the men’s edition of the event in Rome and Varna this Sunday, we are delighted to launch the bidding process for the next edition of this prestigious event, following the FIVB’s key principles of transparency and good governance.”

While men’s hosting duties for major international tournaments has remained diverse (Europe is hosting Worlds, the US is hosting the next 3 Nations League finals), women’s volleyball hosting duties have become hyper-focused on Asia. Japan has hosted 3 of the last 4, and 4 of the last 6, World Championship finals, while China has become the most prominent preliminary host, and regular finals host, of the Volleyball Nations League.

Among the known bidders for the tournament is the Netherlands, who announced earlier this year that they were interested in hosting the women’s tournament in 2022. The federation has already received support from several municipal governments.

24 men’s and 24 women’s teams will compete at the 2018 World Championships. The men’s tournament will run from September 9th-30th in Italy and Bulgaria, with the finale being in Turin. The women’s tournament will run from September 29th to October 20th in Japan, with the final hosted in Yokohama.

List of hosting duties by country:

Men’s World Championship:

Times Hosted Nations (Year(s))
3  Italy (1978, 2010, 2018*)
2  Argentina (1982, 2002)
 Brazil (1960, 1990)
 Bulgaria (1970, 2018*)
 Czechoslovakia (1949, 1966)
 France (1956, 1986)
 Japan (1998, 2006)
 Soviet Union (1952, 1962)
1  Greece (1994)
 Mexico (1974)
 Poland (2014)

Women’s World Championship:

Hosts Nations (year(s))
5  Japan (1967, 1998, 2006, 2010, 2018)
3  Soviet Union (1952, 1962, 1978)
2  Brazil (1960, 1994)
1  Bulgaria (1970)
 China (1990)
 Czechoslovakia (1986)
 France (1956)
 Germany (2002)
 Italy (2014)
 Mexico (1974)
 Peru (1982)

Leave a Reply


About Braden Keith

Braden Keith

Braden Keith is the Editor-in-Chief and co-founder of Braden's first foray into sports journalism came in 2010, when he launched a swimming website called The Swimmers' Circle. Two years later, he joined as a co-founder. Long huge fans of volleyball, when Braden and the SwimSwam partners sought an opportunity to …

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!