Florida Brings In Five AVCA Player Of The Year Recipients

  0 Carly DeMarque | December 06th, 2016 | Division I Mid-Major, News, SEC

In the South, Southeast and Southwest regions, the AVCA has selected regional players and coaches of the year.

In the South Region, standout senior Krystal Rivers (Alabama) earned her fourth and final AVCA South Region Honor. Stephanie Aiple (Texas A&M), Jazzmin Babers (Texas A&M), Alyssa Cavanaugh (Western Kentucky) and Jessica Lucas (Western Kentucky) have been selected for their third South Region honors. Earning the award for the second time are Jesse Earl (Auburn) and Leah Hardeman (Coastal Carolina).

Earning AVCA Freshman of the Year honors is Hollann Hans of Texas A&M.

Travis Hudson is in his 22nd season with the Lady Toppers, where the team went 30-3 and 14-0 in Conference USA play. The teams three losses tie for fewest in program history. The team was ranked as high as No. 19 this season. Hudson led the team to their 10th appearance in the NCAA Tournament and eighth from and automatic bid. Hudson is the recipient to this award for the fourth time.

In the Southeast Region, Alex Holston (Florida) and Carly Kan (Missouri) earned their fourth and final AVCA Southeast Region honor. Earning her third award is Rhamat Alhassan (Florida). Taking home their second Southeast honors is Kaz Brown (Kentucky), Ashley Dusek (Kentucky) Carli Snyder (Florida).

Taking home AVCA Freshman of the Year honors is Leah Edmond of Kentucky.

Wayne Kreklow has been at the helm of Missouri for 17 seasons now, where the team advances to their first Sweet 16 match since 2010. Kreklow has now earned the AVCA Division 1 Southeast Region Coach of the Year two times.

In the Southwest Region, earning their third AVCA Southwest Region honors are Marion Hazelwood (Oklahoma) and Markie Schaedig (Arkansas State). For their second time taking home the award, Dajana Boskovic (UTSA), Chloe Collins (Texas), Ebony Nwanebu (Texas), Paulina Prieto Cerame (Texas), Ashley Smith (TCU) and Mallory Warrington (Arkansas State).

Earning AVCA Freshman of the Year honors is Catherine Repsher of Southern Mississippi.

Amanda Berkley has completed her fourth season with the Golden Eagles, claiming a No. 2 seed in the Conference USA Tournament, the highest since 2009. This marks the first time that Berkley has received the award.

South Region

First Name Last Name School Pos. Year
 Stephanie  Aiple***  Texas A&M  S  Jr.
 Rachel  Anderson  Western Kentucky  MB  So.
 Jazzmin  Babers***  Texas A&M  MB  Sr.
 Kaitlyn  Blake  Texas A&M  MB  So.
 Alyssa  Cavanaugh***  Western Kentucky  OH  Jr.
 Jesse  Earl**  Auburn  L  Jr.
 Aubrey  Edie  Ole Miss  S  Sr.
 Leah  Hardeman**  Coastal Carolina  OH  Jr.
 Annayka  Legros  Coastal Carolina  MB  Sr.
 Jessica  Lucas***  Western Kentucky  S  Jr.
 Carlyle  Nusbaum  Lipscomb  OH  So.
 Taylor  Racich  Lipscomb  RS  Sr.
 Krystal  Rivers****  Alabama  RS  Sr.
 Lexi  Thompson  Ole Miss  OH  Jr.

Honorable Mention

First Name Last Name School Pos. Year
 Alexa  Filley  Auburn  S  Jr.
 Danielle  Harbin  Arkansas  OH  Sr.
 Hollann  Hans  Texas A&M  OH  Fr.
 Madison  Hill  Marshall  MB  Fr.
 Ally  Kiekover  Marshall  MB  Sr.
 Allie  Kellerman  Marshall  L  Sr.

Freshman of the Year: Hollann Hans, Texas A&M, MB

Coach of the Year: Travis Hudson, Western Kentucky

Southeast Region

First Name Last Name School Pos. Year
 Rhamat  Alhassan***  Florida  MB  Jr.
 Kaz  Brown**  Kentucky  MB  Jr.
 Melanie  Crow  Missouri  OH  Jr.
 Olivia  Dailey  Kentucky  S  So.
 Ashley  Dusek**  Kentucky  L  Jr.
 Leah  Edmond  Kentucky  OH  Fr.
 Katie  Hegarty  SMU  OH  Jr.
 Jale  Hervey  UCF  OH  Sr.
 Alex  Holston****  Florida  RS  Sr.
 Carly  Kan****  Missouri  OH  Sr.
 Caroline  Knop  Florida  L  Jr.
 Allie  Monserez  Florida  S  So.
 Carli  Snyder**  Florida  OH  Jr.
 Erica  Treiber  Tennessee  MB  So.

Honorable Mention

First Name Last Name School Pos. Year
 Amanda  Carroll  Florida Gulf Coast  OH  So.
 Janelle  Giordano  SMU  MB  Sr.
 Morgan  Heise  SMU  L  Sr.
 Kira  Larson  Missouri  RS  Sr.
 Alyssa  Munlyn  Missouri  MB  So.
 Mikayla  Shields  South Carolina  RS  Fr.

Freshman of the Year: Leah Edmond, Kentucky, OH

Coach of the Year: Wayne Kreklow, Missouri

Southwest Region

First Name Last Name School Pos. Year
 Sarah  Bell  Southern Miss  S  So.
 Dajana  Boskovic**  UTSA RS  Sr.
 Chloe  Collins**  Texas  S  Sr.
 Natalie  Gower  TCU  MB  Sr.
 Chelsey  Harris  Rice  RS  Sr.
 Marion  Hazelwood*** Oklahoma  MB  Jr.
 Madison  McDaniel  Rice  S  Jr.
 Ebony  Nwanebu**  Texas  RS  Jr.
 Paulina  Prieto Cerame**  Texas  OH  Sr.
 Markie  Schaedig***  Arkansas State  L  Sr.
 Ashley  Smith**  TCU  OH  Sr.
 Katie  Staiger  Baylor  OH  Jr.
 Mallory  Warrington**  Arkansas State  S  Sr.
 Micaya  White  Texas  OH  Fr.

Honorable Mention

First Name Last Name School Pos. Year
 Lauren  Douglass  Texas Tech  MB  Sr.
 Portia  Okafor  Rice  MB  Jr.
 Stephany  Purdue  Southern Miss  OH  Sr.
 Amanda  Chamberlain  North Texas  MB  Jr.
 Carlisa  May  Arkansas State  OH  So.
 Brittany  Gilpin  Texas A&M-Corpus Christi  OH  Jr.

Freshman of the Year: Catherine Repsher, Southern Miss, MB (Must be true freshman to win FOY)

Coach of the Year: Amanda Berkley, Southern Miss

Leave a Reply


About Carly DeMarque

Carly DeMarque

Carly DeMarque has been involved with competitive volleyball for the majority of her life, playing competitively at the club and collegiate level for 15 years and coaching club for five. Now a retired Division I volleyball athlete out of McNeese State University, she continues her volleyball enthusiasm by stepping back into …

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!