Florida State Opens 2017 with 3 Tournaments

  0 Jesse Birdsall | August 13th, 2017 | ACC, College - Women's Indoor, News

Florida State ended their 2016 season in the Sweet Sixteen with a 3-1 loss against eventual champions, Stanford. The Seminoles return a large portion of their starting lineup for the 2017 season, but will need to find a way to replace the production of Katie Horton, the first player to record 1000 career kills and digs, as well as fellow seniors Melanie Kiel and Mara Green.

The Seminoles start their 2017 season with 3 pre-conference tournaments and their annual match against the Florida Gators. The first tournament takes place in Waco, Texas against Baylor, Illinois State and UC Santa Barbara. Playing against teams from other conferences will give the Seminoles an early chance to establish the relative strength of the ACC. Following that tournament, the Seminoles are home for their next two tournaments starting with the Home2 Suites Tallahassee Seminole Invitational, bringing in UNC Asheville, Colorado State and TCU, who ended the 2016 ranked #25. In their final pre-conference tournament, the Seminoles host Tennessee and AVCA preseason #24, Arizona. To conclude their pre-conference, the Seminoles will travel to Gainesville for a match against Florida, who enters the 2017 season with a #12 preseason ranking.

Since FSU plays in the ACC, their conference schedule is unbalanced only playing against Wake Forest, Duke, North Carolina, NC State, Syracuse, Boston College, and Clemson once. By playing against teams from 6 different conferences before their ACC season starts, the Seminoles provide some balance to their otherwise uneven schedule.

Aug. 19 Garnet and Gold Scrimmage Tallahassee, Fla. 10 a.m.
Aug. 25 Baylor Waco, Texas 5 p.m.
Aug. 26 Illinois State Waco, Texas 9:30 a.m.
Aug. 26 UC Santa Barbara Waco, Texas 2:30 p.m.
Sept. 1 UNC Asheville Tallahassee, Fla. 10 a.m.
Sept. 2 Colorado State Tallahassee, Fla. 12 p.m.
Sept. 3 TCU Tallahassee, Fla. 10 a.m.
Sept. 8 Tennessee Tallahassee, Fla. 3 p.m.
Sept. 9 Arizona Tallahassee, Fla. 1:30 p.m.
Sept. 12 Florida Gainesville, Fla. 3 p.m.
Sept. 22 Virginia Tallahassee, Fla. 3:30 p.m.
Sept. 24 Virginia Tech Tallahassee, Fla. 10 a.m.
Sept. 29 Louisville Louisville, Ky. 4 p.m.
Oct. 1 Notre Dame Notre Dame, Ind. 10 a.m.
Oct. 4 Miami Tallahassee, Fla. 3:30 p.m.
Oct. 6 Pittsburgh Tallahassee, Fla. 3:30 p.m.
Oct. 13 Wake Forest Winston-Salem, N.C. 3:30 p.m.
Oct. 15 Duke Durham, N.C. 10 a.m.
Oct. 20 Notre Dame Tallahassee, Fla. 3:30 p.m.
Oct. 22 Louisville Tallahassee, Fla. 10 a.m.
Oct. 27 North Carolina Tallahassee, Fla. 3:30 p.m.
Oct. 29 NC State Tallahassee, Fla. 10 a.m.
Nov. 1 Miami Coral Gables, Fla. 3 p.m.
Nov. 5 Pittsburgh Pittsburgh, Pa. 10 a.m.
Nov. 10 Syracuse Tallahassee, Fla. 3:30 p.m.
Nov. 12 Boston College Tallahassee, Fla. 10 a.m.
Nov. 19 Louisville Louisville, Ky. 10 a.m.
Nov. 17 Virginia Tech Blacksburg, Va. 3:30 p.m.
Nov. 19 Virginia Charlottesville, Va. 10 a.m.
Nov. 22 Clemson Clemson, S.C. 12 p.m.
Nov. 24 Georgia Tech Atlanta, Ga. 10 a.m.
Dec. 1-2 NCAA First and Second Rounds Campus Sites TBD
Dec. 8-9 NCAA Regionals Top-4 remaining seeds TBD
Dec. 14 NCAA Semifinals Kansas City, Mo. TBD
Dec. 16 NCAA Finals Kansas City, Mo. TBD

Leave a Reply


Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!