Florida’s Rhamat Alhassan Named SEC Player Of The Year

  0 volleymob | November 22nd, 2017 | College - Women's Indoor, News, SEC

Press Release courtesy of SEC

The Southeastern Conference announced its annual volleyball awards to cap the 2017 season. The All-SEC Team consists of 18 student-athletes, along with a seven-member All-Freshman squad. No ties were broken.

Rhamat Alhassan, a senior middle blocker at Florida, was named as the 2017 SEC Volleyball Player of the Year. This marks the sixth time that a student-athlete was named the SEC Player of the Year and the SEC Freshman of the Year during their collegiate career. Alhassan currently leads the nation in blocks per set (1.80). She is also 18th on the NCAA charts in hitting percentage (.401) and total blocks (148).

For the third consecutive year, Kentucky senior defensive specialist Ashley Dusek was chosen as the SEC Libero of the Year. The third Kentucky player to earn this honor, she is seventh in the league in digs per set (4.33). This also marks the seventh time a Kentucky player has earned this accolade.

Madison Lilley of Kentucky was selected as the 2017 SEC Freshman of the Year. She is the third Wildcat to claim this honor. The setter is currently leading the conference and fourth nationally in assists per set (12.04), and third overall in the SEC in total assists (1,156). Lilley has been named the SEC Setter of the Week eight times and the SEC Player of the Week three times during her rookie campaign.

Macy Reece of Auburn was voted the 2017 SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Reece graduated summa cum laude with a degree in finance in three years, and is she is currently in her first semester of Auburn’s MBA program. She was a member of the 2015 and 2016 SEC Academic Honor Roll as well as the 2014 SEC First-Year Academic Honor Roll. Reece is a five-time member of the Raymond J. Harbert College of Business Dean’s List. She is also a member of Phi Kappa Phi (representing the top 10% of Auburn seniors) and the Chi Alpha Sigma National College Athlete Honor Society.

Mary Wise of Florida and Craig Skinner of Kentucky share the 2017 SEC Coach of the Year award. The Gators and the Wildcats are tied atop the league standings at 15-1 heading into the last two matches of the regular season. Florida and Kentucky are currently ranked in the top 10 of the AVCA Coaches Top 25 poll. The Wildcats and the Gators are also 1-2 in the NCAA RPI.

Player of the Year: Rhamat Alhassan, Florida
Libero of the Year: Ashley Dusek, Kentucky
Freshman of the Year: Madison Lilley, Kentucky
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Macy Reece, Auburn
Co-Coaches of the Year: Mary Wise, Florida and Craig Skinner, Kentucky

All-SEC Team
Pilar Victoria, Arkansas
Jesse Earl,  Auburn
Alexa Filley,  Auburn
Rhamat Alhassan, Florida
Shainah Joseph, Florida
Caroline Knop, Florida
Rachael Kramer, Florida
Carli Snyder, Florida
T’ara Ceasar, Georgia
Kaz Brown, Kentucky
Ashley Dusek, Kentucky
Leah Edmond, Kentucky
Emily Franklin, Kentucky
Madison Lilley, Kentucky
Taylor Bannister, LSU
Kira Larson, Missouri
Alyssa Munlyn, Missouri
Mikayla Shields, South Carolina

All-Freshman Team
T’ara Ceasar, Georgia
Madison Lilley, Kentucky
Avery Skinner, Kentucky
Taylor Bannister, LSU
Kayla Caffey, Missouri
Leketor Member-Meneh, Missouri
Mikayla Robinson, South Carolina

Leave a Reply


Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!