Gatorade Released Their State Girls’ Volleyball Players Of The Year

  0 Carly DeMarque | January 17th, 2017 | High School, News

The 2016 Gatorade High School State Players of the Year have been announced. The award has been handed out the past 32 years – honoring athletic, academic and community achievements

These players were determined based off their play over the 2016 season. Every position was represented and every class, with the youngest coming out of Hawaii – Elena Oglivie who is a freshman. These players are the top athletes of their sport in their state and many have made their college commitments, including to schools such as Nebraska, Wisconsin, Washington, UCLA, Minnesota and more.

Below is a list of the recipients of the award:

State Player Class Position High School College Commitment
Alabama Lauren Chastang Sr OH Bayside Academy Kennesaw State
Alaska Brynn lte Sr MB Dimond
Arizona Brooke Nuneviller Jr OH Corona Del Sol
Arkansas Ella May Powell Jr S Fayetteville Washington
California Lexi Sun Sr OH Santa Fe Christian Texas
Colorado Michaela Putnicki Sr OH Lewis-Palmer Virginia
Connecticut Alana Hruska Jr OH Rham
Delaware Sydney Fulton Sr S Delaware Military Academy
District of Columbia Rebecca Frye Jr S St. John’s College HS
Florida Stephanie Samedy Sr Opp East Ridge Minnesota
Georgia Gabby Curry Sr OH/L Buford Kentucky
Hawaii Elena Oglivie Fr OH Iolani School
Idaho Dani Nay Jr OH Skyview
Illinois Charley Niego Jr OH Mother McAuley Notre Dame
Indiana Nia Robinson Sr OH Cathedral HS Northwestern
Iowa Mackenzie May Sr OH Wahlert Catholic UCLA
Kansas Madison Lilley Sr S Blue Valley Kentucky
Kentucky Paige Hammons Sr OH Sacred Heart Academy Florida
Louisiana Ellie Holzman Soph MB Mount Carmel Academy
Maine Kayley Cimino Sr S/Opp Greely Springfield
Maryland Jenaisya Moore Soph OH Northwest
Massachusetts Riley James Soph OH Barnstable
Michigan Erin O’Leary Jr S Novi HS Michigan
Minnesota Sydney Hilley Sr OH/S Champlin Park Wisconsin
Mississippi Emma Funk Jr MB/OH Our Lady Academy
Missouri Jena Otec Sr OH St. Pius X Purdue
Montana Elsa Godwin Jr OH Sentinel
Nebraska Brooke Heyne Sr OH Skutt Catholic Kansas State
Nevada Sydney Berenyi Jr OH Silverado
New Hampshire Lauren Hatch Sr MB Concord
New Jersey Elena Montgomery Jr OH Ramapo
New Mexico Cat Kelly Jr OH Sandia Preparatory School
New York Yvette Burcescu Jr OH Walter Panas
North Carolina Taylor Rowland Jr OH Cox Mill
North Dakota Regan Dennis Sr OH Century Northern State
Ohio Shannon Williams Jr S Brecksville-Broadview Heights HS Cincinnati
Oklahoma Alli Evans Sr OH Edmond Memorial Tulsa
Oregon Kathryn Decker Sr OH/Opp Jesuit Santa Clara
Pennsylvania Sam Graver Sr OH Parkland La Salle
Rhode Island Maile Somera Soph OH Barrington
South Carolina Thayer Hall Jr OH Dorman Florida
South Dakota Sami Slaughter Sr MB Harrisburg Nebraska
Tennessee Logan Eggleston Soph OH Brentwood
Texas Kylee McLaughlin Sr S Hebron Oregon State
Utah Dani Barton Sr OH Brighton Utah
Virginia Abby Bottomley Sr OH/DS Princess Anne High Point
Washington Kennedy Croft Jr OH Tumwalter Gonzaga
West Virginia Tessa Wyner Jr OH George Washington
Wisconsin Mariah Whalen Sr OH Newman Catholic Wisconsin
Wyoming Kalina Smith Sr OH/S Cambell County HS


Leave a Reply


About Carly DeMarque

Carly DeMarque

Carly DeMarque has been involved with competitive volleyball for the majority of her life, playing competitively at the club and collegiate level for 15 years and coaching club for five. Now a retired Division I volleyball athlete out of McNeese State University, she continues her volleyball enthusiasm by stepping back into …

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!