Minnesota’s Sarah Wilhite Big 10 Player of the Year, Top Honors

  0 Kaitlynn Bianconi | December 16th, 2016 | Big Ten, College - Women's Indoor, News

Big 10 Conference Awards

Player of the Year: Sarah Wilhite, University of Minnesota
Defensive Player of the Year: Justine Wong-Orantes, University of Nebraska
Setter of the Year: Samantha Seliger-Swenson, University of Minnesota
Freshman of the Year: Molly Haggerty, University of Wisconsin
Coach of the Year: John Cook, University of Nebraska

The decision to name Minnesota’s Sarah Wilhite the Player of the Year was unanimous, finishing with an average 4.13 kills per set. She had 13 double-doubles this season and is the 5th Gopher to earn the top honor, and is the second in a row.

Justine Wong-Orantes was also unanimously voted as the Defensive Player of the Year, and the first Husker to win the honor. She defended her title from last year.

Samantha Seliger-Swenson averaged 11.09 assists during conference play to take the Setter of the Year title.

Gopher Molly Haggerty earned the Freshman of the Year award, and is the fourth player in the history of the program to win the title.

Player Team Position Year
Ali Bastianelli Illinois MB SO
Jordyn Poulter Illinois S SO
Abby Cole Michigan MB SR
Alyssa Garvelink Michigan State MB JR
Sarah Wilhite Minnesota OH SR
Samantha Seliger-Swenson Minnesota S SO
Hannah Tapp Minnesota MB SR
Kelly Hunter Nebraska S JR
Amber Rolfzen Nebraska MB SR
Kadie Rolfzen Nebraska OH SR
Justine Wong-Orantes Nebraska L SR
Taylor Sandbothe Ohio State MB SR
Simone Lee Penn State OH JR
Haleigh Washington Penn State MB KR
Danielle Cuttino Purdue OH JR
Lauren Carlini Wisconsin S SR
Haleigh Nelson Wisconsin MB SR
Tionna Williams Wisconsin MB SO

In This Story

Leave a Reply


Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!