Nicolas Szerszen Earns Second Consecutive MIVA Player Of The Year

  0 Carly DeMarque | April 13th, 2017 | College - Men's Indoor, MIVA, News

The 2017 MIVA awards have been announced with a number of familiar players and coaches making the list.

Lewis took the most first-team honors this season with four, followed by Ohio State with three then Ball State with two and Loyola with one. In total, Ohio State and Lewis each had six players voted onto teams by the nine person panel.

For the second consecutive season, Ohio State’s Nicolas Szerszen has been named the MIVA Player of the Year, becoming the 10th individual to earn the honor twice. Szerszen ranked second in the conference with 3.37 kills per set and .404 hitting percentage. He has 38 aces in conference play, leading all players. In January, Szerszen was named the MIVA Offensive Player of the Week and the AVCA National Player of the Week.

This season, two freshmen were standouts on their teams in Lewis’ Ryan Coenen and Ball State’s Matt Szews who earned the MIVA Co-Freshmen of the Year honors. Szews posted 3.57 kills per set, ranking third in the conference while hitting for .242 and recording 1.81 digs per set. He posted 22 double-digit kill matches, including a career-best 23 against Grand Canyon.

Coenen hit for .295 with 3.20 kills per set, the sixth best in the league. He recorded 20 double-digit kill matches and was named the MIVA Defensive Player of the Week on March 21. Coenen also was awarded the VolleyMob National Player of the week on January 24.

For the 13th time, Ohio State’s Pete Hanson has been named the MIVA Coach of the Year. This season, Hanson led the #2 Buckeyes to a 27-2 overall record and 16-0 in the MIVA. The team is still out to defend their 2016 MIVA and national title.

Player of the Year: Nicolas Szerszen, Ohio State
Coach of the Year: Pete Hanson, Ohio State
Co-Freshmen Of the Year: Ryan Coenen, Lewis & Matt Szews, Ball State


1988, 1993, 1996, 1998, 2000, 2004, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010 (co), 2011, 2016 and 2017

All-MIVA First Team
Matt Szews, Ball State
Matt Walsh, Ball State
Ryan Coenen, Lewis
Mitch Perinar, Lewis
Michael Simmons, Lewis
Matt Yoshimoto, Lewis
Jeff Jendryk, Loyola (Ill.)
Christy Blough, Ohio State
Miles Johnson, Ohio State
Nicolas Szerszen, Ohio State

All-MIVA Second Team
Connor Gross, Ball State
Cullen Mosher, Grand Canyon
Drake Silbernagel, Grand Canyon
Ben Plaisted, Loyola (Ill.)
Collin Mahan, Loyola (Ill.)
Wyatt Patterson, McKendree
Maalik Walker, McKendree
Gabriel Domecus, Ohio State
Driss Guessous, Ohio State
Jarrod Kelso, Quincy

All-MIVA Honorable Mention
Brendan Surane, Ball State
Pelegrin Vargas, Fort Wayne
Sky Engleman, Grand Canyon
Michael Milstein, Grand Canyon
Jacob Schmiegelt, Lewis
Connor Hipelius, Lindenwood
Sam Schindler, Lindenwood
Pasquale Fiduccia, McKendree
Brendan Schmidt, McKendree
Maxime Hervoir, Ohio State

Leave a Reply


About Carly DeMarque

Carly DeMarque

Carly DeMarque has been involved with competitive volleyball for the majority of her life, playing competitively at the club and collegiate level for 15 years and coaching club for five. Now a retired Division I volleyball athlete out of McNeese State University, she continues her volleyball enthusiasm by stepping back into …

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!