Shawn Garus Earns AVCA Pacific North Region Coach Of The Year Honors

  0 Carly DeMarque | December 06th, 2016 | College - Women's Indoor, Division I Mid-Major, News, Pac 12, WCC

In the Pacific North and Pacific South Regions, AVCA Players and Coaches Have been selected.

For the Pacific North Region, Inky Ajanaku (Stanford) earned her fourth AVCA award. Taking her third award is Merete Lutz of Stanford, while Mary-Kate Marshall (Oregon State), Sierra Nobley (Boise State) and Nikkie Taylor (Hawaii) each earned their second AVCA Pacific North Region award.

Shawn Garus of Boise State went 26-7 this season and 16-2 in Mountain West play. Their 26 wins is the second-most in program history. The team won the Mountain West, earning their first ever NCAA Tournament appearance where they knocked off No. 20 Western Kentucky for their first tournament victory.

In the Pacific South Region, Amy Boswell (BYU) and Penina Snuka (Arizona) earn their third AVCA Pacific South Region honors. Taking their second honors, Taylor Formico (UCLA), Lisa Kramer (San Diego) and Sarah Sponcil (Loyola Marymount).

Heather Olmstead is in her second year as head coach for BYU, where the team is 29-3 this season and 16-2 in West Coast Conference play. The Cougars are making their fifth consecutive Sweet 16 after sweeps in the first two rounds.

Pacific North Region

First Name Last Name School Pos. Year
 Inky  Ajanaku****  Stanford  MB  Sr.
 Amanda  Benson  Oregon  L  Sr.
 Kyra  Holt  Washington State  OH  Sr.
 Crissy  Jones  Washington  RS  Jr.
 Merete  Lutz***  Stanford  RS  Jr.
 Mary-Kate  Marshall**  Oregon State  OH  Jr.
 Sierra  Nobley**  Boise State  OH  Jr.
 Maddy  O’Donnell  Boise State  MB  Sr.
 Katie  Oleksak  Colorado State  S  Fr.
 Kathryn  Plummer  Stanford  OH  Fr.
 Courtney  Schwan  Washington  OH  Jr.
 Bailey  Tanner  Washington  S  Jr.
 Nikki  Taylor**  Hawai’i  RS  Sr.
 Lindsey  Vander Weide  Oregon  OH  So.

Honorable Mention

First Name Last Name School Pos. Year
 Taylor  Agost  Oregon  RS  Jr.
 Laura  Beach  Wyoming  MB  Sr.
 Audriana  Fitzmorris  Stanford  MB  Fr.
 Kirstie  Hillyer  Colorado State  MB  Fr.
 Emily  Maglio  Hawai’i  MB  Jr.
 Taylor  Nelson  Cal Poly  S  Jr.

Freshman of the Year: Kathryn Plummer, Stanford, OH

Coach of the Year: Shawn Garus, Boise State

Pacific South Region

First Name Last Name School Pos. Year
 Adora  Anae  Utah  OH  Jr.
 Nele  Barber  Long Beach State  OH  Sr.
 Amy  Boswell***  BYU  MB  Sr.
 Taylor  Formico**  UCLA  L  Sr.
 Jennie  Frager  UCLA  MB  Sr.
 Lisa  Kramer**  San Diego  RS  Sr.
 Khalia  Lanier  Southern California  OH  Fr.
 Kalei  Mau  Arizona  OH  Sr.
 McKenna  Miller  BYU  OH  Fr.
 Elise  Ruddins  Southern California  MB  Sr.
 Lauren  Schad  San Diego  MB  Sr.
 Penina  Snuka***  Arizona  S  Sr.
 Sarah  Sponcil**  Loyola Marymount  OH  Jr.
 Torrey  Van Winden  UCLA  RS  Fr.

Honorable Mention

First Name Last Name School Pos. Year
 Jordan  Anderson  UCLA  OH  Sr.
 Reily  Buechler  UCLA  OH  Jr.
 Bree  Hammel  UNLV  RS  Sr.
 Whitney  Young Howard  BYU  MB  Sr.
 Lindsey  Ruddins  UC Santa Barbara  OH  Fr.
 Gabby  Simpson  Colorado  S/H  Jr.

Freshman of the Year: McKenna Miller, BYU, OH

Coach of the Year: Heather Olmstead, BYU

In This Story

Leave a Reply


About Carly DeMarque

Carly DeMarque

Carly DeMarque has been involved with competitive volleyball for the majority of her life, playing competitively at the club and collegiate level for 15 years and coaching club for five. Now a retired Division I volleyball athlete out of McNeese State University, she continues her volleyball enthusiasm by stepping back into …

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!