Trinity Western Wins Second Consecutive U Sports Men’s Championship

  0 Carly DeMarque | March 20th, 2017 | College - Men's Indoor, News, USports (Canada)

U Sports Men’s Championship

  • Trinity Western def. Alberta 3-1, (25-20, 25-20, 27-29, 25-23)
  • Saville Community Sports Centre
  • Match results

Trinity Western has won their second straight U Sports men’s championship over Alberta in a four set match 3-1, (25-20, 25-20, 27-29, 25-23). With the win, it becomes the fifth time in program history that the Spartans have won the national title, with this being the second time that they have won back-to-back titles (2011 and 2012).

Ryan Sclater, the 2017 U Sports Men’s Volleyball Player of the Year, topped off his career with 12 kills, eight digs and five blocks.

The first set was led by Trinity Western’s Blake Scheerhoorn, who put down a perfect seven for seven kills in the first set alone, bringing the Spartans to a 25-20 first set win. In the second set, Scalter led the pack with five kills on nine attack attempts, also adding an ace. The second saw eight ties and three lead changes, but the Spartans had it together late in the set to take the 2-0 advantage in the match with a 25-20 second set win.

Alberta took a set off of Western Trinity in the third, with a hard-fought 29-27 victory, having to fight off to match points to take the win.

Western Trinity fought back in the fourth to take the title. The match was tied at 21 all, but a three attack errors and an Aaron Boettcher kill propelled the Spartans to their second consecutive title.

For the Spartans, Scheerhoorn put down a match-best 22 kills on a .442 hitting percentage. Eric Loeppky added another 12 kills, four service aces, six digs and seven blocks for the team while Sclater slammed down 12 kills, eight digs and five blocks. Defensively, Boettcher was unstoppable, blocking a match-best 14 balls.

Trinity Western outblocked Alberta 16-8.5 and recorded 8-4 in aces.

Leading Alberta was Taylor Arnett with 16 kills on a .636 hitting percentage. Two players added 11 kills – Ryan Nickifor and Taryq Sani, while Alex McMullin recorded an additional 10 kills.


Tournament MVP: Adam Schriemer – Trinity Western University

Tournament All-Stars:
Ryan Sclater – Trinity Western University

Adam Schriemer – Trinity Western University

Blake Scheerhoorn – Trinity Western University

Ryan Nickifor – University of Alberta

Taylor Arnett – University of Alberta

Brett Walsh – University of Alberta

Brandon Koppers – McMaster University

Leave a Reply


About Carly DeMarque

Carly DeMarque

Carly DeMarque has been involved with competitive volleyball for the majority of her life, playing competitively at the club and collegiate level for 15 years and coaching club for five. Now a retired Division I volleyball athlete out of McNeese State University, she continues her volleyball enthusiasm by stepping back into …

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!