United States Looks to Continue Dominance at NORCECA U-21 Champ.

  0 Blair Lambert | August 25th, 2018 | News

The United States will join eight other teams from the NORCECA in Havana, Cuba for the 2018 NORCECA U-21 Championships. The tournament will start on August 27 and run through September 1. The United States named their roster earlier in the week. They will be looking to add their 4th gold medal to their resume. The United States has won three of the last four editions of the tournament. In 2010 they won the bronze behind Cuba and Canada. Cuba has won the competition five times, including three straight from 2004 to 2008.

The nine teams in the competition will be broken into three pools. Each of the three pools will consist of three teams. The two top-ranked teams among those winning their respective pool will qualify directly for the semifinals. The lowest-ranked team from those who won their pool will join the second-place teams in the quarterfinal round.

Preliminary Pools

Pool A

Pool B

  • Barbados
  • Cuba
  • Haiti

Pool C

Preliminary Schedule

(All times local)

August 27

12:00    Guatemala v United States

14:00    Canada v Nicaragua

16:00    Cuba v Haiti

August 28

12:00    Nicaragua v Mexico

14:00    Dominican Republic v Guatemala

16:00    Barbados v Haiti

August 29

12:00    Mexico v Canada

14:00    United States v Dominican Republic

16:00    Cuba v Barbados

Leave a Reply


Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!