Pan Am Cup Kicks off on August 28th

  0 Blair Lambert | August 25th, 2018 | International Volleyball, News, NORCECA volleyball, South American Volleyball

Teams from the NORCECA and the CSV will be making their way to Veracruz, Mexico for the 13th annual Pan Am Cup. The tournament will take place between August 28 to September 2 and all of the matches will be played at the Cordova Arena. The top five teams will qualify for the 2019 Pan Am Games.

The competition will consist of 12 teams split into three different pools. The top two pool winners will qualify directly for the semifinals. The lowest ranked pool winner and the other three teams finishing 2nd place in each pool will play in the quarterfinals.

The United States has won the tournament a record of five times with the last time coming in 2012. Brazil has won the gold medal on three different occasions. Argentina enters the tournament as the defending champions, but they will not be utilizing their best players since the FIVB World Championships is right around the corner.

Pan Am Cup Pools

Pool A

  • Chile
  • Cuba
  • Guatemala
  • Mexico

Pool B

  • Brazil
  • Dominican Republic
  • Canada
  • Colombia

Pool C

Schedule of Pool Matches

(All times local)

August 28

11:00    United States v Peru

13:00    Chile v Cuba

15:00    Brazil v Dominican Republic

17: 00   Canada v Colombia

19:00    Argentina v Puerto Rico

21:00    Mexico v Guatemala

August 29

11:00    Cuba v Guatemala

13:00    Colombia v Brazil

15:00    Peru v Argentina

17: 00   Dominican Republic v Canada

19:00    Puerto Rico v United States

21:00    Mexico v Chile

August 30

11:00    Peru v Puerto Rico

13:00    Guatemala v Chile

15:00    Colombia v Dominican Republic

17: 00   Brazil v Canada

19:00    United States v Argentina

21:00    Mexico v Cuba

Leave a Reply


Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!