Websites Launched For The 2017 Age-Category Volleyball Championships

  0 Carly DeMarque | December 08th, 2016 | News

The Age-Category Volleyball World Championships are to take place in 2017, and their respective websites have been launched. These websites are the place to go to be up-to-date on next year’s competitions.

The first competition heats up in the Czech Republic with the U21 men’s team competing from June 23-July 2, ending with play in Slovenia from September 10-17 with the women’s U23 tournament.

Men’s U23

The host city for the men’s U23 will be Cairo from August 18-25. Egypt’s capital will host 12 of the best U23 teams, who look to claim the title that Russia took in 2015 in the United Arab Emirates.

FIVB Volleyball Men’s U23 World Championship Egypt 2017

Women’s U23

The women’s U23 World Championship will be held in Slovenia  from September 10-17. The capital city Ljubljana and Maribor will be the host cities for the top 12 women’s U23 teams. The previous winner in this age-category was Brazil that took the crown in 2015.

FIVB Volleyball Women’s U23 World Championship Slovenia 2017

Men’s U21

The 40 year celebration of the first Men’s U21 World Championship that was held in 1977 will take place in 2017. The 19th edition of the men’s U21 championships will be held in the Czech Republic in the cities of Brno and Ceske Budejovice. The 2015 title was taken by Russia when the event took place in Mexico.

FIVB Volleyball Men’s U21 World Championship Czech Republic 2017

Women’s U20

The women’s U20 will also celebrate their 40th year since the first championship took place in 1977. The championship’s will take place in Mexico from July 7-16.

Puerto Rico hosted the 2015 installment of the championships, when the Dominican Republic took the title.

FIVB Volleyball Women’s U20 World Championship Mexico 2017

Boy’s U19

In the youngest age-group tournament for males, giving the next generation of volleyball stars their first taste of global competition. The 15th U19 championships will take place in Bahrain from August 18-27.

Poland took their first title in 2015. when they defeated host Argentina.

FIVB Volleyball Boys’ U19 World Championship Bahrain 2017

Girls’ U18

In the youngest age-group tournament for females, was first introduced in 1989. The championships will take place in Argentina from August 18-27, with 20 teams looking to take the title.

In 2015, Italy took home their first gold medal in Peru as they took down the USA.

Leave a Reply


About Carly DeMarque

Carly DeMarque

Carly DeMarque has been involved with competitive volleyball for the majority of her life, playing competitively at the club and collegiate level for 15 years and coaching club for five. Now a retired Division I volleyball athlete out of McNeese State University, she continues her volleyball enthusiasm by stepping back into …

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!