30 Players Named to Volleyball Senior CLASS Awards Watch-List

  0 Braden Keith | October 20th, 2016 | ACC, Big 12, Big Ten, College - Women's Indoor, Division I Mid-Major, News, Pac 12, SEC

30 women’s Division I volleyball players have been nominated for the 2016 Senior CLASS Award, which is given to one senior each season who “excels both on and off the court.”

From the official Senior CLASS Awards website:

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

Of the 30 candidates, 27 have grade-point averages of 3.0 or higher, including 14 who maintain above a 3.5. Fifteen are returning American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) All-Americans, and nine are members of teams ranked in the AVCA Top 25 Coaches Poll. Outside of academics and athletics, all candidates also have been consistently involved in community service on their campus or in their communities.

The 30 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists later in the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition. The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2016 NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball Championship in December.

Last week, 30 nominees for this year’s award were named, including players from two of the top 5 teams in the country. Nebraska’s Kadie Rolfzen, and then the Minnesota Golden Gophers are represented by a pair of nominees: twin sisters Paige and Hannah Tapp.

Minnesota is one of three schools with two nominees. Creighton (Jess Bird and Lauren Smith) and New Hampshire (Demi Muses and Keelin Severtson) also have two seniors on the list.

Last year’s winner was Cassie Strickland from the University of Washington.

Full List of 2016 Nominees

Inky Ajanaku Middle Blocker Stanford University
Jazzmin Babers Middle Blocker Texas A&M
Abbey Bessler Outside Hitter Xavier University
Jess Bird Outside Hitter Creighton
Amy Boswell Middle blocker BYU
Katie Brand Setter Kansas State University
Hayley Farrer Setter Idaho State University
Claire Felix Middle Blocker UCLA
Tessa Fournier Libero Seton Hall University
Janey Goodman Right Side Hitter James Madison
Carly Kan Outside Hitter University of Missouri
Grace Kauth Outside Hitter Cleveland State University
Hannah Klemm Setter Hofstra University
Laini Leindecker Outside Hitter University at Albany
Valeria León Libero Ohio State University
Dani Mostrom Libero Wichita State
Demi Muses Middle Blocker University of New Hampshire
Meghan Niemann Middle Blocker Marquette University
Megan O’Sullivan Middle Blocker Fairfield University
Kayla Ostrom Setter Lipscomb University
Chloe Reinig Outside Hitter Michigan State University
Kadie Rolfzen Outside Hitter Nebraska
Keelin Severtson Setter University of New Hampshire
Ashley Smith Outside Hitter TCU
Lauren Smith Middle Blocker Creighton
Hannah Tapp Right Side Hitter/ Middle Blocker University of Minnesota
Paige Tapp Middle Blocker University of Minnesota
Teegan Van Gunst Outside Hitter Georgia Tech
Cassie Wait Libero University of Kansas
Taylor Whittingham Libero University of Southern California


In This Story

Leave a Reply


About Braden Keith

Braden Keith

Braden Keith is the Editor-in-Chief and co-founder of VolleyMob.com. Braden's first foray into sports journalism came in 2010, when he launched a swimming website called The Swimmers' Circle. Two years later, he joined SwimSwam.com as a co-founder. Long huge fans of volleyball, when Braden and the SwimSwam partners sought an opportunity to …

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!