Aalsmeer One-Star Field Set After Two Qualification Rounds

  0 Wendy Mayer | March 15th, 2018 | FIVB World Tour, News, Pro Beach

FIVB Blooming Beach Aalsmeer One Star

  • The Beach Sport and Event Center; Aalsmeer, Netherlands
  • March 15-18, 2018
  • Schedule/Results

Four teams played their way into the main draw at the Aalsmeer One Star on Thursday, winning two qualification round matches to round out the pool play field of 16.

Bennet Poniewaz/Simon Kulzer (Germany), Daniel Jonassen/Morten Overgaard (Denmark), Koko Prasetyo Darkuncoro/Danangsyah Pribadi (Indonesia) and Kristoffer Abell/Daniel Thomsen (Denmark) bested 12 other teams to advance.

Abell/Thomsen received a bit of a reprieve as they moved on through Round 2 via forfeit.

Koko/Danang earned the highest seed among the advancing teams, checking in at No. 10. The duo played one just two three-set matches on the day, besting Austria’s Moritz Fabian Kindl/Marian Klaffinger in the opening round.

Dutch duo Alexander Brouwer/Robert Meeuwsen are the top seeded team in the tournament, coming off a first place finish at the Doha Four Star last week in Qatar. The pair leads a group of five duos from the Netherlands vying for a podium finish in their home country.

Teams from seven other countries, including two each from Denmark, Germany, Indonesia and Poland, round of the field of 16. Teams from Russia, New Zealand and France fill the final three spots.


Qualification Round 1

Alexander Herrmann/Alexander Annerstedt (Sweden) def. Florian Breer/Yves Haussener (Switzerland) 21-19, 10-21, 19-17

Bennet Poniewaz/Simon Kulzer (Germany) def. Seain Cook/Robin Miedzybrodski 21-14, 21-18

Enrico Rossi/Jakob Windisch (Italy) def. Christian Helland/Jorn Olav Gamlemoen (Norway) 21-15, 21-11

Daniel Jonassen/Morten Overgaard (Denmark) def. Tonys Liotatis/Andreas Savvidis (Cyprus)  21-18, 21-16

Christian Garcia/Raul Mesa (Spain) def. Marcel Myslivecek/Martin Pihera (Czech Republic) 21-18, 21-14

Koko Prasetyo Darkuncoro/Danangsyah Pribadi (Indonesia) def. Moritz Fabian Kindl/Marian Klaffinger (Austria) 21-12, 17-21, 15-13

Even Zhuravel/Iaroslav Gordieiev (Ukraine) def. Matthew Immers/Mees Blom (Netherlands) 22-20, 21-18

Kristoffer Abell/Daniel Thomsen (Denmark) def. Simon Fecteau-Boutin/Hugo Rosso-Bonneau (Canada) 21-17, 21-19


Qualification Round 2

Bennet Poniewaz/Simon Kulzer (Germany) def. Alexander Herrmann/Alexander Annerstedt (Sweden) 21-18, 21-15

Daniel Jonassen/Morten Overgaard (Denmark) def. Enrico Rossi/Jakob Windisch (Italy) 21-18, 21-16

Koko Prasetyo Darkuncoro/Danangsyah Pribadi (Indonesia) def. Christian Garcia/Raul Mesa (Spain) 21-17, 21-17

Kristoffer Abell/Daniel Thomsen (Denmark) def. Even Zhuravel/Iaroslav Gordieiev (Ukraine) – Forfeit

Leave a Reply


About Wendy Mayer

Wendy Mayer

Wendy Mayer has worked in athletics media relations for the last 20 years. The Northwest Missouri State alumna is currently senior writer for Volleymob.com after spending the last 15 years with Purdue athletics.

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!