Dynamo Moscow Wins Russian Super League Women’s Title

  0 Wendy Mayer | May 01st, 2017 | International Volleyball, News, Pro Indoor, Russian League

Russian Super League Women

  • Dynamo Moscow def. Dynamo Kazan 27-25, 14-25, 30-28, 25-21
  • Dynamo Moscow wins Russian Super League title
  • Yenisey Krasnoyarsk def. Uralochka-NTMK 25-27, 14-25, 25-23, 25-20, 15-13
  • Yenisey Krasnoyarsk takes Russian Super League bronze medal


Dynamo Moscow won its second straight Russian Super League Women’s Championship with a pair of victories over Dynamo Kazan last weekend. Moscow secured its fifth Russian title with a five-set win Friday and a four-set victory Saturday.

On Friday, Moscow edged Kazan in a five-set battle, taking a 2-1 lead in the best of five series with the 21-25, 20-25, 25-21, 25-18, 18-16 come-from-behind victory.

On Saturday, Moscow finished off the championship with a 27-25, 14-25, 30-28, 25-21 win in Kazan.

The teams had split the first two matches of the finals series, with Kazan taking the opening match via sweep 25-19, 25-18, 25-19 on April 17 and Moscow returning the favor with a 25-20, 25-17, 25-20 sweep on April 18.


In the other half of the bracket, Yenisey Krasnoyarsk faced off with Uralochka-NTMK with the bronze medal on the line. Yenisey won the series 3-1 with a pair of victories last week.

On Monday, Yenisey edged Urlochka 23-25, 25-21, 33-31, 21-25, 15-13. The team wrapped up the series with another five-set win, taking it 25-27, 14-25, 25-23, 25-20, 15-13 on Tuesday.

On April 17, Yenisey won 3-1 (26-24, 25-20, 20-25, 25-23). On April 18, Uralochka won in five sets (25-20, 25-16, 17-25, 20-25, 15-12). The winner of the best-of-three series will earn third place in the league.

Uralochka was the runner up in 2015-16 and earned the bronze in 2014-15 and 2011-12.


Leave a Reply


About Wendy Mayer

Wendy Mayer

Wendy Mayer has worked in athletics media relations for the last 20 years. The Northwest Missouri State alumna is currently senior writer for Volleymob.com after spending the last 15 years with Purdue athletics.

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!