Finalists Named For Volleyball Senior Class Award

  0 Carly DeMarque | November 04th, 2016 | Big 12, Big Ten, College - Women's Indoor, Division I Mid-Major, News, Pac 12, SEC

A list of 30 women’s Division I volleyball players has been narrowed down to 10 finalists for the 2016 Senior CLASS Award. The award is given out to one senior each season who “excels both on and off the court.”

From the official Senior CLASS Awards website:

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

Of the 30 candidates, 27 have grade-point averages of 3.0 or higher, including 14 who maintain above a 3.5. Fifteen are returning American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) All-Americans, and nine are members of teams ranked in the AVCA Top 25 Coaches Poll. Outside of academics and athletics, all candidates also have been consistently involved in community service on their campus or in their communities.

The 30 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists later in the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition. The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2016 NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball Championship in December.

The list of 30 was scaled to 10, featuring three players in the top five teams in the nation, including Nebraska’s Kadie Rolfzen and Minnesota is represented by twin sisters: Paige and Hannah Tapp.

Last year’s winner was Cassie Strickland of the University of Washington.

To vote for the winner of the Senior CLASS Award, click here.

2016 Senior CLASS Award Finalists

Inky Ajanaku Middle Blocker Stanford University
Jazzmin Babers  Middle Blocker Texas A&M
Amy Boswell  Middle Blocker BYU
Katie Brand  Setter Kansas State University
Claire Felix  Middle Blocker UCLA
Kadie Rolfzen  Outside Hitter Nebraska
Lauren Smith  Middle Blocker Creighton
Hannah Tapp  Right Side Hitter/Middle Blocker University of Minnesota
Paige Tapp  Middle Blocker University of Minnesota
Taylor Whittingham  Libero University of Southern California

In This Story

Leave a Reply


About Carly DeMarque

Carly DeMarque

Carly DeMarque has been involved with competitive volleyball for the majority of her life, playing competitively at the club and collegiate level for 15 years and coaching club for five. Now a retired Division I volleyball athlete out of McNeese State University, she continues her volleyball enthusiasm by stepping back into …

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!