FIVB World Tour Finals To Highlight Top Beach Pairs

  0 Carly DeMarque | August 21st, 2017 | Beach, FIVB Majors Series, FIVB World Tour, News, Pro Beach


The FIVB World Tour Finals are set to begin on August 23 and will last until August 27 in Hamburg, Germany. The competition will include a $800,000 total payout prize with the winning crews of both genders earning $100,000 to share.


August 23 – men’s and women’s main draw
August 24 – men’s and women’s main draw
August 25 – men’s main draw and women’s quarterfinals/semifinals
August 26 – men’s quarterfinals and women’s finals
August 27 – men’s finals

12 of the top teams from each gender highlight the pack, including Germany’s Laura Ludwig and Kira Walkenhorst, who won the 2016 Olympic Games and the 2017 Beach World Championships. The Germans earned their way into the competition by way of a wild card selection. Other Germans that are set to compete are Chantal Laboureur/Julia Sude on the women’s side and Markus Bockermann/Lorenz Schumann and Armin Dollinger/Jonathan Erdmann on the men’s side. Laboureur/Sude earned their spot as the #2 ranked women’s team in the rankings while both men’s crews were wild card choices.

Team USA gained four total spots into the World Tour Finals, highlighted by Phil Dalhausser/Nick Lucena as the #1 ranked men’s team in the world. Earning a wild card selection on the men’s side is Theo Brunner/Casey Patterson as did April Ross/Lauren Fendrick on the women’s side. Brooke Sweat/Summer Ross found their way into the Finals as the top-ranked USA squad for the women.

Brazil had a mishap on the women’s side, as there were three top-eight ranked Brazilian teams. The Finals will only allow two submissions for each country. Larissa Franca/Talita Antunes enter as the top-ranked women’s team while Agatha Bednarczuk/Eduarda ‘Duda’ Santos Lisboa also secured their play. Falling out of the competition is Barbara Seixas/Fernanda Alves who are ranked #6 but Bednarczuk/Santos are ranked #4.


Men’s Teams

  • Phil Dalhausser/Nick Lucena (USA)
  • Evandro Goncalves/Andre Loyola (BRA)
  • Piotr Kantor/Bartosz Losiak (POL)
  • Viacheslav Krasilnikov/Nikita Liamin (RUS)
  • Alvaro Filho/Saymon Santos (BRA)
  • Daniele Lupo/Paolo Nicolai (ITA)
  • Clemens Doppler/Alexander Horst (AUT)
  • Adrian Gavira/Pablo Herrera (ESP)

Women’s Teams

  • Larissa Franca/Talita Antunes (BRA)
  • Chantal Laboureur/Julia Sude (GER)
  • Sarah Pavan/Melissa Humana-Paredes (CAN)
  • Agatha Bednarczuk/Eduarda ‘Duda’ Santos Lisboa (BRA)
  • Barbora Hermannova/Marketa Slukova (CZE)
  • Joana Heidrich/Anouk Verge-Depre (SUI)
  • Kristyna Kolocova/Michala Kvapilova (CZE)
  • Brooke Sweat/Summer Ross (USA)

Wild Card – Women

  • Kira Walkenhorst/Laura Ludwig (GER)
  • April Ross/Lauren Fendrick (USA)
  • Heather Bansley/Brandie Wilkerson (CAN)
  • Nina Betschart/Tanja Huberli (SUI)

Wild Card – Men

  • Markus Bockermann/Lorenz Schumann (GER)
  • Armin Dollinger/Jonathan Erdmann (GER)
  • Ben Saxton/Chaim Schalk (CAN)
  • Theo Brunner/Casey Patterson (USA)

Leave a Reply


About Carly DeMarque

Carly DeMarque

Carly DeMarque has been involved with competitive volleyball for the majority of her life, playing competitively at the club and collegiate level for 15 years and coaching club for five. Now a retired Division I volleyball athlete out of McNeese State University, she continues her volleyball enthusiasm by stepping back into …

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!