Japan Set To Host Seventh World Grand Champions Cup

  0 Carly DeMarque | August 29th, 2017 | Asian Volleyball, Brazilian Volleyball, European volleyball, International Volleyball, News, NORCECA volleyball, South American Volleyball, U.S. Men's National Team, U.S. Women's Volleyball

2017 World Grand Champions Cup

2017 marks the seventh edition of the World Grand Champions Cup, with the top-six teams in the world competing for the title. The event takes place every four years, typically following an Olympic year, with Japan having hosted every edition since the inaugural competition in 1993.

With Rio having ended just last year, everyone is looking ahead to the 2020 Olympics, which happens to be held in Japan – Tokyo. This gives the country a chance to show their passion for the sport as people are beginning to look ahead in the future.

Both the men’s and women’s side of the competition is bringing in six teams to compete in a round robin format tournament. Japan earns their selection as host, with the next four competitors coming from the four continental champions that finished the highest at the last Olympic Games. In addition, they are joined by a wild card selection.

Men’s Teams

  • Japan – Host
  • Iran – AVC
  • France – CEV
  • Brazil – CSV
  • Italy – wild card

Women’s Teams

  • Japan – Host
  • China – AVC
  • Russia – CEV
  • Brazil – CSV
  • Korea – Wild Card

From both sides of the competition Japan, Brazil and the USA are the only teams that will compete in both the men’s and women’s tournament. Brazil is the team to beat in the competition, with the men’s team winning four of the six tournaments held so far, while also claiming the runner-up position in the other two. On the women’s side, they are the only team to have won the tournament twice. Coming into 2017, Brazil is the double defending champion as both the men’s and women’s teams won the competition in 2013.

The inaugural year was taken by Italy on the men’s side, as well as Cuba taking the crown in 2001. The women’s side did not begin until 1997 when Russia took the helm, followed by China in 2001 with Italy claiming the prize in 2009 and Brazil holding the title in 2005 and 2013).

On the men’s side, France and Iran are making their debut at the competition.

Leave a Reply


About Carly DeMarque

Carly DeMarque

Carly DeMarque has been involved with competitive volleyball for the majority of her life, playing competitively at the club and collegiate level for 15 years and coaching club for five. Now a retired Division I volleyball athlete out of McNeese State University, she continues her volleyball enthusiasm by stepping back into …

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!