NDSU’s Lopez, Grand Canyon men’s Werle Among AVCA Thirty Under 30

  0 Wendy Mayer | April 05th, 2018 | ACC, Big 12, Big Ten, College - Beach, College - Men's Indoor, College - Women's Indoor, Division I Mid-Major, Division III, Missouri Valley Conference, MPSF, News, Pac 12, Pac-12, SEC

Eleven Division I women’s coaches, including North Dakota State head coach Jennifer Lopez, and 19 others were tabbed as the 2018 American Volleyball Coaches Association’s Thirty Under 30 Award winners on Thursday.

Lopez, who had the interim tag removed from her title midway through the 2017 season, was one of 10 collegiate head coaches to garner the Thirty Under 30 honor and one of just two in the Division I women’s ranks alongside Cal beach coach Meagan Owusu.

Four Division III bosses –  Amber Dunn (Wisconsin-Lacrosse) and Kyle Exline (North Central College’s men’s and women’s), Lauren London-Law (Washington & Jefferson) and Annie McShea (Stevens Institute of Technology) – received the accolade. Division II’s Amanda Ostapow (Long Island-Post) and the NAIA’s Nick Ferry (Antelope Valley) and Alison Williams (Martin Methodist College) rounded out the group.

Just three men’s coaches – Exline and Grand Canyon boss Matthew Werle and BYU assistant coach Jaylen Reyes –  were among the honorees.

Also included were five high school/club coaches and several collegiate assistants.

The Thirty 30 awards have been presented by the AVCA since 2009.

“Each year these selections get tougher and tougher as our sport is blessed with so many remarkable young coaches.” said AVCA Executive Director Kathy DeBoer. “They know they are the future of the sport and of the AVCA, and I’m impressed with their willingness to give of themselves and their desire to lead.”

The full group of honorees, selected from 144 nominees, is below.

Leave a Reply


About Wendy Mayer

Wendy Mayer

Wendy Mayer has worked in athletics media relations for the last 20 years. The Northwest Missouri State alumna is currently senior writer for Volleymob.com after spending the last 15 years with Purdue athletics.

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!