SMSU’s Taylor Reiss Named AVCA Division II Player Of The Year

  0 Carly DeMarque | December 06th, 2017 | College - Women's Indoor, Division II, News

The 2018 AVCA Division II Player of the Year goes to Southwest Minnesota State’s Taylor Reiss after posting big numbers this season. Reiss will be awarded at the NCAA Division II Championship banquet that will be held in Pensacola, Florida as well as in Kansas City, Missouri at the NCAA Division I Tournament.

Unfortunately for Reiss, SW Minnesota State’s season was cut short this year after falling to Minnesota Duluth in the second round of the NCAA Division II Tournament in straight sets.

On the year, Reiss put down an average of 5.13 kills per set on a .305 hitting percentage. In addition, Reiss picked up 3.08 digs per set and blocked 0.62 balls per set. Reiss has earned a number of awards on top of the AVCA Division II Player of the Year:

  • AVCA All-Region selection
  • AVCA First-Team All-American
  • NSIC Player of the Year
  • Two-Time AVCA National Player of the Week

This season, Reiss posted an SW Minnesota State and NSIC Tournament record as she posted 41 kills in the teams win over Augustana in the semifinal round. In six matches this season, Reiss has produced at least 20 kills and 20 digs along with 20 or more kills in 12 matches. Reiss ranked third in the nation with 5.13 kills per set and 5.69 points per set for the year.

Reiss is the first player for Southwest Minnesota State to earn the award since its induction in 1985.

2017: Taylor Reiss, Southwest Minnesota State
2016: Annie Wolfe, University of Nebraska at Kearney
2015: Preecy Seever, Rockhurst University
2014: Berkley Whaley, University of Tampa
2013: Kate Lange, University of Minnesota Duluth
2012: Danielle Selkridge, University of Tampa
2011: Samantha Middleborn, Cal State San Bernardino
2010: Samantha Middleborn, Cal State San Bernardino
2009: Maggie McNamara, Concordia-St. Paul
2008: Maggie McNamara, Concordia-St. Paul
2007: Vicky Braegelmann, Minnesota Duluth
2006: Vicky Braegelmann, Minnesota Duluth; Li YiZhi, Lock Haven
2005: Erin Gudmundson, Univ. of Nebraska-Kearney
2004: Brianna Harris, Cal State San Bernardino
2003: Kim Morohunfola, Cal State San Bernardino
2002: Erin Deffenbaugh, Northern Colorado
2001: Shauna Sturm, South Dakota State
2000: Kari Peterson, Augustana (S.D.)
1999: Sarah Butler, West Texas A&M
1998: Melinda Almazan, Regis
1997: Sarah Butler, West Texas A&M
1996: Liu Jun, Northern Michigan
1995: Liu Jun, Northern Michigan
1994: Christy Wieneke, Cal State Bakersfield
1993: Stacey Metro, Northern Michigan
1992: Stacey Metro, Northern Michigan
1991: Ana Cristina Pereira, West Texas A&M
1990: Becky Belland, Central Missouri State
1989: Sheri Benson, UC Riverside
1988: Janet Cobbs, North Dakota State
1987: Angela Brinton, Cal State-Northridge
1986: Annie Kniss, UC Riverside
1985: Lynda Johnson, Portland State

Leave a Reply


About Carly DeMarque

Carly DeMarque

Carly DeMarque has been involved with competitive volleyball for the majority of her life, playing competitively at the club and collegiate level for 15 years and coaching club for five. Now a retired Division I volleyball athlete out of McNeese State University, she continues her volleyball enthusiasm by stepping back into …

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!