USC Only School With Multiple AVCA Beach All-American Selections

  0 Carly DeMarque | May 18th, 2017 | Beach, Big West, CCSA, College - Beach, Division II, Division III, News, Pac-12, West Coast Conference

The AVCA has announced their selections for the 6th annual AVCA Collegiate Beach All-America Teams, with USC being the only institution to nab more than one selection.

USC’s Sara Hughes becomes the first player in history to garner four AVCA awards in collegiate beach volleyball. Her partner, Kelly Claes, along with Florida State’s Jace Pardon become the only players to earn three AVCA All-American honors.

Allie Wheeler and Sophie Bukovec are the other squad to earn All-American honors from USC, making this Bukovec’s second honor – the first coming back in 2015. USC now has 14 All-American honorees putting them behind Pepperdine who has 18. Swooping up the award for Pepperdine this season is Madalyn Roh and Delaney Knudsen.

Florida State’s Leigh Andrew and Brooke Kuhlman earn the only east coast selection to the AVCA All-American team.

2017 AVCA COLLEGIATE BEACH VOLLEYBALL ALL-AMERICANS

Name Institution Year Hometown Instagram
Leigh Andrew Florida State University Gr. Fort Lauderdale, Fla. leighand1
Brooke Kuhlman Florida State University So. Naples, Fla. brookie_kuhlman
Molly Turner Grand Canyon University Jr. Naperville, Ill. mollyturner22
Tjasa Kotnik Grand Canyon University RS-Sr. Ljubljana, Slovenia tjasakotnik
Nele Barber Long Beach State University Jr. Berlin, Germany nelebarber
Rachel Nieto Long Beach State University Jr. Walnut Creek, Calif. ratchelnieto
Madalyn Roh Pepperdine University So. Scottsdale, Ariz. sunshine_rohyourboat
Delaney Knudsen Pepperdine University Sr. Valencia, Calif. meandleaharefriends
Megan McNamara** UCLA So. Vancouver, BC, Canada megannmcnamara
Nicole McNamara** UCLA So. Vancouver, BC, Canada nicolecmcnamara
Morgan Martin University of Hawai’i Fr. Mission Viejo, Calif.
Mikayla Tucker University of Hawai’i Sr. Placerville, Calif. mikayla_tucker7
Kelly Claes*** University of Southern California Sr. Fullerton, Calif. kellyclaes3
Sara Hughes**** University of Southern California Sr. Costa Mesa, Calif. sarahughes14
Allie Wheeler University of Southern California Sr. Saratoga, Calif. alwheels12
Sophie Bukovec** University of Southern California Sr. Toronto, Ontario, Canada sophiebukovec

*DENOTES NUMBER OF YEARS SELECTED TO AN AVCA COLLEGIATE BEACH ALL-AMERICA TEAM

2017 AVCA COLLEGIATE BEACH VOLLEYBALL HONORABLE MENTION

Name Institution Year Hometown Instagram
Savannah Slattery Loyola Marymount University Fr. Malibu, Calif. savannahslattery
Sarah Sponcil Loyola Marymount University Jr. Phoenix, Ariz. smsponcil
Payton Rund Saint Mary’s College So. Albany, Ore. paytonrund
Lindsey Knudsen Saint Mary’s College So. Santa Clarita, Calif. lindsssssstagram

 

ab

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

avatar
wpDiscuz

About Carly DeMarque

Carly DeMarque

Carly DeMarque has been involved with competitive volleyball for the majority of her life, playing competitively at the club and collegiate level for 15 years and coaching club for five. Now a retired Division I volleyball athlete out of McNeese State University, she continues her volleyball enthusiasm by stepping back into …

Read More »