Dutch Pairs Brouwer/Meeuwsen, Bouter/Varenhorst Win Pools in Aalsmeer

  0 Wendy Mayer | March 16th, 2018 | FIVB World Tour, News, Pro Beach

FIVB Blooming Beach Aalsmeer One Star

  • The Beach Sport and Event Center; Aalsmeer, Netherlands
  • March 15-18, 2018
  • Schedule/Results

Home court advantage was alive and well at the Aalsmeer One Star with two Dutch teams earning pool play titles alongside pairs from Indonesia and New Zealand.

Top seeded Alexander Brouwer/Robert Meeuwsen, which won the Doha Four Star last weekend, took Pool A, while countrymen Jasper Bouter/Christiaan Varenhorst, the No. 2 overall seed, nabbed the Pool B title.

Indonesia’s Mohammad Ashifiya/Ade “Candra” Rachmawan, the No. 3 seed, and New Zealand’s Ben O’Dea/Sam O’Dea, the No. 12 seed, won Pool C and D respectively.

The final four matches of pool play will take place on Saturday morning to determine the eight teams that will advance to the Round of 12 for a right to face the pool winners in the quarterfinals.

Varenhorst/Bouter finished fourth at the Hague Four Star in January, their first FIVB event together after joining forces in August. The pair was 25th at the Fort Lauderdale Five Star March 4.

Ashifiya/Candra’s best FIVB finish was ninth place at the Kish Island Three Star in February. The O’Deas were last on the podium at the Shepparton One Star in March 2017, earning bronze.


Pool A

Jonathan Erdmann/Max Betzien (Germany) def. Vasilii Ivanov/Sergey Gorbenko (Russia) 21-15, 15-21, 15-7

Alexander Brouwer/Robert Meeuwsen (Netherlands) def. Sven Vismans/Jannes van de Ham (Netherlands) 21-16, 22-20

Alexander Brouwer/Robert Meeuwsen (Netherlands) def. Jonathan Erdmann/Max Betzien (Germany) 21-10, 21-16


Pool B

Mateusz Lysikowski/Maciej Rudol (Poland) def. Koko Prasetyo Darkuncoro/Danangsyah Pribadi (Indonesia) 14-21, 21-15, 15-8

Jasper Bouter/Christiaan Varenhorst (Netherlands) def. Bennet Poniewaz/Simon Kulzer (Germany) 21-13, 21-17

Jasper Bouter/Christiaan Varenhorst (Netherlands) def. Mateusz Lysikowski/Maciej Rudol (Poland) 21-18, 21-12


Pool C

Mohammad Ashifiya/Ade Rachmawan (Indonesia) def. Daniel Jonassen/Morten Overgaard (Denmark) 26-24, 21-11

Ruben Penninga/Tom van Steenis (Netherlands) def. Olivier Barthelemy/Romain Di Giantommaso (France) 18-21, 21-18, 19-17

Mohammad Ashifiya/Ade Rachmawan (Indonesia) def. Ruben Penninga/Tom van Steenis (Netherlands) 21-16, 21-18


Pool D

Ben O’Dea/Sam O’Dea (New Zealand) def. Mateusz Paszkowski/Kacper Kujawiak (Poland) 21-13, 16-21, 15-12

Kristoffer Abell/Daniel Thomsen (Denmark) def. Dirk Boehle/Steven van de Velde (Netherlands) 22-20, 21-17

Ben O’Dea/Sam O’Dea (New Zealand) def. Kristoffer Abell/Daniel Thomsen (Denmark) 21-16, 21-12


Leave a Reply


About Wendy Mayer

Wendy Mayer

Wendy Mayer has worked in athletics media relations for the last 20 years. The Northwest Missouri State alumna is currently senior writer for Volleymob.com after spending the last 15 years with Purdue athletics.

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!