La Salle Wins Its 3rd Straight UAAP Women’s Title + Dream Team

  0 Liam Smith | May 05th, 2018 | Asian Volleyball, International Volleyball, News, Philippines Volleyball

For the 11th time in 18 years, and for the third straight year, La Salle lifted the UAAP Women’s volleyball title. This time, coach Ramil de Jesus’ girls defeated Far Eastern University 3-0 (26-24, 25-20, 26-24) in front of more than 14 thousand fans.

Talking about dominance, La Salle didn’t lose a single set in the best-of-three finals, showing who really owns Philippines’ college volleyball. Tireless three-time champion libero Dawn Macandili, who finished with 21 digs, won the UAAP Season 80 Finals MVP award. She will now graduate from the program.

As for the rest of the accolades, National University’s Jaja Santiago won the Tournament’s MVP and best spiker award. This is a great consolation prize for Jaja, who despite being a superb player, was never able to win a championship with NT in her five year college career. University of Santo Tomas landed two girls on the tournament’s Dream Team: Hitter Sisi Rondina was hailed as the Best Scorer of the league, while Milena Alessandrini emerged as its Rookie of the Year. To close the awards: Far Eastern University’s Celine Domingo won Best Blocker, La Salle’s Des Cheng won Best Server, Ateneo’s Deanna Wong won Best Setter and University of the East Kath Arado proved to be the league’s most efficient defensive specialist as she copped the Best Digger and Best Receiver awards.

Leave a Reply


Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!