Margie Mara Recieves the USAV Frier Award

  0 Kenedy McGrath | May 26th, 2017 | Editorial, News

On May 24, 2017 in Minneapolis, Minnesota USA volleyball honored Margie Mara with the Harold T. Friermood “Fier” Award at the Dorothy C. Boyce Awards Recognition Banquet.

Mara joined the USAV staff back in 1994 first as a managing director and is now known as the senior director overseeing Region Services, Sport Development, Coaching Education and Officials” Development programs, and recently was appointed to the staff liaison for the USOC SafeSport initiative.

On top of all that, Mara also is the primary liaison of the Regional Operations Division and the RVAA Insurance Committee, is the supervisor of the USA Volleyball’s on-line registration system, is an internationally qualified and certified FIVB scorekeeper and USAV national scorekeeper, serves on the staff of both the Rules Commission and Officials’ Division, and is also the key leader during international and domestic events hosted by USA Volleyball.

In an interview with USA Volleyball, Mara stated “Obviously, this is a huge honor and to have this happen in Minneapolis, which is where I spent so much of my volleyball life and my family is here, is really special.”

Mara was an assistant professor and coached the women’s volleyball and track at Carleton College in Minnesota for 10 years. Mara was very involved with the North Country Region of USA Volleyball as a player, coach, and official.

Mara not only served up her talents at USA volleyball but she also contributed her work to other institutions and universities such as teaching and coaching junior high school students in Indiana, teaching physical education at Regis University in Denver as well as becoming the assistant athletic director and head volleyball coach at Regis, and was the first president of the NAIA Coaches Association from 1980-1981.

The Harold T. Friermood “Frier” Award is the highest honor given by the national governing body during the Dorothy C. Boyce Awards Recognition Banquet and was awarded to Mara for various duties, accomplishments, and responsibilities during her 23 years at USA volleyball.

The complete list of awardees at the 2017 Dorothy C. Boyce Awards Recognition Banquet:

Awards Presented at Boyce Banquet

  • Harold T. Friermood “Frier” Award: Margie Mara
  • Flo Hyman All-Time Great Player Award (Indoor): Elaina Oden
  • Flo Hyman All-Time Great Player Award (Indoor): Kim Oden
  • All-Time Great Female Sitting Volleyball Player Award: Katie Holloway
  • All-Time Great Male Sitting Volleyball Player Award: Brent Rasmussen
  • Donald S. Shondell All-Time Great Coach (Contemporary Division): Bill Hamiter
  • Bertha Lucas All-Time Great Coach (Pioneer Division): Debby Colberg
  • George J. Fisher Leader in Volleyball: Nancy Funk
  • George J. Fisher Leader in Volleyball: Dave Spencer


Leave a Reply


About Kenedy McGrath

Kenedy McGrath

Started writing for volleymob in December 2016 Graduated from Virginia Tech with a B.A. in Multimedia Communications on a full-ride volleyball scholarship as a libero. Originally from Hermosa Beach, California Kenedy started to play indoor and beach volleyball at 9 years-old. She first began as a setter and then realized being only 5'5 …

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!