McNamara Twins Make World Tour Debut in Bangkok One-Star Qualifiers

  0 Wendy Mayer | May 10th, 2018 | FIVB World Tour, News, Pro Beach

Bangkok One-Star

The qualification rounds began at the Bangkok One Star on Thursday with familiar faces to collegiate beach volleyball fans joining the field on the women’s side.

Canadians Megan McNamara/Nicole McNamara, the Court 1 duo for the NCAA Beach national champions UCLA, had their first taste of FIVB World Tour action, with a 17-21, 21-17, 15-11 victory over Germans Karoline Frohlich/Viktoria Seeber in the second round of qualifying after receiving a bye.

Also moving into the main draw were Americans Aurora Davis/Bree Scarbrough and Japan’s Sakurako Fujii/Samaa Miyagawa.

Women’s pool play began late Thursday night and continues through 3 a.m. ET.

There will not be repeat gold medalists on the men’s side as last week’s Manila One-Star champs Max-Jonas Karpa/Milan Sievers were ousted in the first round of qualifying.

The four teams moving on after two rounds of qualifying are: Yoshiumi Hasegawa/Keisuke Shimizu (Japan), Aleksandr Kramarenko/Tara Myskiv (Russia), Leo Williams/Mthokozisi Mndingi (South Africa) and Alejandro Huerta/Javier Huerta (Spain)

Williams/Mndingi had to come from behind in a pair of tiebreak wins to make the main draw. Huerta/Huerta held on for a three-set victory in their Round 2 match.

Men’s pool play is set to begin just before midnight Thursday and last through 6 a.m. ET.


Women’s Qualifying Round 2

Sakurako Fujii/Samaa Miyagawa (Japan) def. Simone Sittig/Luciana Pierangeli (South Africa) 21-6, 21-10

Megan McNamara/Nicole McNamara (Canada) def. Karoline Frohlich/Viktoria Seeber (Germany) 17-21, 21-17, 15-11

Aurora Davis/Bree Scarbrough (USA) def. Isabelle Pahlsson/Josefine Tivefalt (Sweden) 21-11, 21-11



Men’s Qualifying Round 1

Alejandro Huerta/Javier Huerta (Spain) def. Liam Kopp/William Hoey (Canada) 21-19, 21-18

Linus Tholse/Jakob Molin (Sweden) def. Max-Jonas Karpa/Milan Sievers (Germany)  21-18, 21-18

Aleksandr Kramarenko/Tara Myskiv (Russia) def. Netanel Ohana/Shani Cohen (Israel) 21-14, 22-20

Maximilian Guehrer/Paul Burnett (Australia) def. Koichi Nishimura/Yu Koshikawa (Japan) 21-14, 21-18

Dunwinit Kaewsai/Patiphan Chambuntha (Thailand) def. Cameron Wheelan/Felipe Humana-Paredes (Canada) 16-21, 21-16, 15-8

Yoshiumi Hasegawa/Keisuke Shimizu (Japan) def. Nouh Al-Jalbubi/Mazin Alhashmi (Oman) 18-21, 21-14, 15-11

Moritz Kindl/Marian Klaffinger (Austria) def. Rafi Nordin/Raja Nazmi (Malaysia) 20-22, 21-16, 16-14

Leo Williams/Mthokozisi Mndingi (South Africa) def. Felix Friedl/Maximilian Trummer (Austria) 15-21, 21-17, 16-14


Men’s Qualifying Round 2

Aleksandr Kramarenko/Tara Myskiv (Russia) def. Maximilian Guehrer/Paul Burnett (Australia) 21-15, 21-12

Alejandro Huerta/Javier Huerta (Spain) def. Linus Tholse/Jakob Molin (Sweden) 21-18, 17-21, 15-13

Yoshiumi Hasegawa/Keisuke Shimizu (Japan) def. Dunwinit Kaewsai/Patiphan Chambuntha (Thailand) 21-13, 21-17

Leo Williams/Mthokozisi Mndingi (South Africa) def. Moritz Kindl/Marian Klaffinger (Austria) 20-22, 21-18, 15-13

Leave a Reply


About Wendy Mayer

Wendy Mayer

Wendy Mayer has worked in athletics media relations for the last 20 years. The Northwest Missouri State alumna is currently senior writer for after spending the last 15 years with Purdue athletics.

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!