New NIVC Postseason Tournament Send Letters of Interest to 110 Schools

  0 Wendy Mayer | November 03rd, 2017 | ACC, Big 12, Big East, Big Ten, College - Women's Indoor, Conference USA, Division I Mid-Major, Mountain West, News, Pac 12, SEC, WCC

The National Invitational Volleyball Championship, which will make its modern era debut this postseason has contacted 110 programs to gauge their interest in participation should they not make the NCAA Tournament’s 64-team field.

The NIVC, which was previously played from 1989 to 1995 as a 20 team event, will feature a 64-team field, to be announced Nov. 26, with 32 automatic berths and 32 at-large berths. The tournament will be a single-elimination format with matches hosted by participating schools.

Rounds one and two will be Nov. 28-30, round three will take place Dec. 1-3, round four is set for Dec. 4-6. The NIVC semifinals will be Dec. 7-9 with the championship match set for Dec. 12.

Teams invited to consider the NIVC hail from 32 conferences. Some of the teams listed are still firmly in the running to make the NCAA field, such as Northern Iowa and Missouri State, who are 1-2 in the Missouri Valley.

Texas A&M is the highest team among the current NCAA RPI rankings, checking in at No. 37. Florida State is No. 40 in RPI, VCU is 43 and Arkansas is 45.

Those schools who have received letters of consideration from the NIVC follow and are grouped by conference affiliation.

American: Cincinnati, SMU, Temple, Tulane, Central Florida

America East: Albany, New Hampshire, Stony Brook, UMBC

Atlantic Sun: FGCU, Jacksonville, Kennesaw State, Lipscomb

Atlantic 10: Dayton, VCU

ACC: Duke, Florida State, Georgia Tech, North Carolina, Syracuse

Big 12: Kansas State, TCU, Texas Tech, West Virginia

Big East: Butler, Seton Hall, Villanova

Big Sky: Idaho, North Dakota, Northern Colorado, Portland State, Sacramento State

Big South: High Point, Radford

Big Ten: Iowa, Northwestern

Big West: Hawaii, UC Irvine

Colonial (CAA): College of Charleston, Hofstra, James Madison, Northeastern, Towson

Conference USA: Florida Atlantic, North Texas, Rice, Southern Miss

Horizon League: Cleveland State, Green Bay, IUPUI, Oakland

Ivy League: Harvard, Princeton, Yale

Metro Atlantic: Fairfield

Mid-American (MAC): Ball State, Bowling Green, Miami (OH)

Missouri Valley: Drake, Illinois State, Missouri State, Northern Iowa

Mountain West: Boise State, San Diego State, San Jose State, Wyoming

Northeast: Bryant, Central Conn. State, LIU-Brooklyn, Robert Morris

Ohio Valley: Austin Peay, Belmont, Eastern Kentucky, Murray State, SIUE

Pac-12: California

Patriot: American, Army, Colgate, Navy

SEC: Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Ole Miss, Tennessee, Texas A&M

Southern: ETSU, Furman, Wofford

Southland: Central Arkansas, Houston Baptist, Stephen F. Austin

Southwestern (SWAC): Alabama A&M, Alabama State, Texas Southern

Summit League: Denver, Oral Roberts, South Dakota

Sun Belt: Arkansas State, Coastal Carolina, Louisiana-Lafayette, South Alabama, Texas State

West Coast (WCC): Gonzaga, Pacific, Pepperdine, Portland, Santa Clara

Western Athletic (WAC): Cal State Bakersfield, New Mexico State, Utah Valley, UT-Rio Grande Valley

Leave a Reply


About Wendy Mayer

Wendy Mayer

Wendy Mayer has worked in athletics media relations for the last 20 years. The Northwest Missouri State alumna is currently senior writer for after spending the last 15 years with Purdue athletics.

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!