Russia Set to Take Four Olympians to Boris Yeltsin Cup June 26

  0 Wendy Mayer | June 16th, 2017 | European volleyball, International Volleyball, News

The Russian women’s national team has named its roster for the Boris Yeltsin Cup, which will take play from June 26-30 in Yekaterinburg.

The event will pit Russia against Kazakstan, Turkey, Bulgaria and Serbia.

The squad will be without Tatiana Kosheleva, Nataliya Goncharova and Ekaterina Pankova, who are being given time off to rest ahead of the European championships in September. The trio also was left off the Grand Prix roster, announced June 9.

The roster consists of three setters, nine hitters, three middle blockers and two liberos.

All 17 players are among the team’s Grand Prix roster.  Middle blocker Irina Koroleva (Zaryazhko) managed 44 points for the team in European qualification, while middle Irina Fetisova added 0.82 stuffs per set.

Yana Shcherban, Korolova, Daria Malygina and Fetisova from the 2016 Olympic team are included in the potential lineup.


Boris Yeltsin Cup roster – Russia

Setter: Irina Filishtinskaya, Evgeniya Startseva, Tatiana Romanova

Attacker: Yana Shcherban, Maria Frolova, Anna Lazareva, Daria Malygina, Angelina Sperskayte, Yulia Kutyukova, Ekaterina Polyakova, Irina Voronkova, Ksenia Parubets (Ilchenko)

Middle Blocker: Irina Koroleva (Zaryazhko), Irina Fetisova, Ekaterina Evdokimova, Ekaterina Efimova

Libero: Ekaterina Tretyakova, Alla Galkina

Leave a Reply


About Wendy Mayer

Wendy Mayer

Wendy Mayer has worked in athletics media relations for the last 20 years. The Northwest Missouri State alumna is currently senior writer for after spending the last 15 years with Purdue athletics.

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!