Saratoga Repeats as CIF NorCal Division II Champs

  0 Wendy Mayer | May 31st, 2017 | High School, News

CIF Boys Volleyball Regional Championships

May 23-27, 2017

SoCal Results: Division I; Division II; Division III

NorCal Results: Division I; Division II

The California Interscholastic Federation Boys Volleyball Regional Championships were contested last week. The SoCal Division I, II and III titles were decided at Edison High School in Huntington Beach, while the NorCal championships took place at Dublin High School in Dublin. Of the five titles decided, only one school was a repeat champion – NorCal Division II’s Saratoga.

No. 2 seed Loyola swept top seeded Corona del Mar 25-23, 25-20, 25-19 for the CIF SoCal Division I regional championship last week. The Cubs (30-2), under head coach Michael Boehle, defeated Buchanan (3-0) in the first round and Oak Park (3-1) to advance to the title match. Corona del Mar also was the runnerup in 2016, falling to Mira Costa in the final.

In Division II action, No. 2 seed Clovis brought home the title with a four-set win over Notre Dame (Sherman Oaks). The Cougars (31-8), under head coach Rich Lake, swept Bishop Montgomery in the first round and edged Calabasas in five sets in the regional semifinals.

The Division III title went to Sage Creek, which swept Kennedy (La Palma) 25-16, 26-24, 25-23 in the finals. The Bobcats (31-11), under head coach David Savage, made their way to the finals with a sweep of Kennedy (Granada Hills) and a five-set win over La Serna.

In the NorCal regionals, No. 4 seed Roseville took the Division I title with a four-set win over No. 3 seed Bellarmine College Prep. The Tigers (37-7), under head coach Marco Salcedo, swept De La Salle and upset No. 1 seed Saint Francis to reach the championship. Bellarmine Prep won the 2016 championship.

The No. 4 seed also took the NorCal Division II title as Saratoga topped No. 3 seed Pacific Collegiate in four sets. The Falcons (26-11), under head coach Jason Cardoso, defeated Bentley in four sets and edged top seeded Campolindo in five en route to the title. The championship is the second straight for Saratoga, which defeated Leigh for the 2016 title.


SoCal Division I

Loyola 3, Corona del Mar 0 (25-23, 25-20, 25-19)


SoCal Division II

Clovis 3, Notre Dame (Sherman Oaks) 1 (25-17, 25-19, 22-25, 26-24)


SoCal Division III

Sage Creek 3, Kennedy (La Palma) 0 (25-16, 26-24, 25-23)


NorCal Division I

Roseville 3, Bellarmine College Prep 1 (25-17, 26-24, 21-25, 27-25)


NorCal Division II

Saratoga 3, Pacific Collegiate 1 (25-19, 25-21, 21-25, 25-19)

Leave a Reply


About Wendy Mayer

Wendy Mayer

Wendy Mayer has worked in athletics media relations for the last 20 years. The Northwest Missouri State alumna is currently senior writer for after spending the last 15 years with Purdue athletics.

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!