Texas’ White & Eggleston, Oklahoma’s Kinley & McLaughlin, Texas Tech’s Owens Named Best of Big 12

  0 volleymob | November 26th, 2018 | Big 12, College - Women's Indoor, News

Courtesy: Big 12 Conference

All-Big 12 Volleyball awards for the 2018 season were announced by the Conference office as Oklahoma, Texas and Texas Tech picked up individual accolades.

The honorees were led by the Player of the Year Micaya White (Texas), Freshman of the Year Logan Eggleston (Texas), Libero of the Year Keyton Kinley (Oklahoma) and Co-Setter of the Year recipients Kylee McLaughlin (Oklahoma) and Missy Owens (Texas Tech). Longhorns head coach Jerritt Elliott took home his sixth Coach of the Year award.

Junior outside hitter White was named Big 12 Player of the Year for the first time after a season that included a team-leading number of kills (326), kills per set average (3.84) and a hitting clip above .300 (.305). White also earned two conference weekly awards throughout her junior campaign. During her first year at UT, White was named Freshman of the Year (2016), a season that consisted of eight Rookie of the Week honors. A Longhorn has now won back-to-back Player of the Year awards for the first time in four years.

Eggleston capped off her rookie season with the third-best kills per set average (2.89) and third-most kills (246) in the Big 12, amongst all freshman. She helped the Longhorns to a league-leading hitting percentage (.303), which ranks No. 3 in the nation.

Three-time Big 12 Defensive Player of the Week honoree, Kinley, paced the Conference with a digs per set average that ranked No. 41 in the nation (5.12) and recorded a league-best 527 digs, No. 72 nationally.

McLaughlin ranked No. 2 in the league in assists (1,111). She also tallied the most assists in a week’s span in Conference play (108) and pulled in a No. 42 national ranking in assists per set (10.79).

Owens ranked fifth-most in the Big 12 in assists (1,056) and sixth-most in assists per set (10.06).

2018 All-Big 12 Volleyball Postseason Awards

Coach of the Year: Jerritt Elliott, Texas

Player of the Year: Micaya White, Texas

Libero of the Year: Keyton Kinley, Oklahoma

Setter of the Year: Kylee McLaughlin, Oklahoma and Missy Owens, Texas Tech

Freshman of the Year: Logan Eggleston, Texas

All-Big 12 First Team

Shelly Fanning, Baylor

Yossiana Pressley, Baylor

Grace Lazard, Iowa State

Jess Schaben, Iowa State

Jada Burse, Kansas

Alyssa Enneking, Oklahoma

Keyton Kinley, Oklahoma

Kylee McLaughlin, Oklahoma

élan McCall, TCU

Anna Walsh, TCU

Brionne Butler, Texas

Logan Eggleston, Texas

Yaasmeen Bedart-Ghani, Texas

Morgan Johnson, Texas

Micaya White, Texas

Missy Owens, Texas Tech

All-Big 12 Second Team

Paige Anderson, Oklahoma

Gabby Simpson, Kansas

Ashley Smith, Kansas

Gloria Mutiri, Kansas State

Elle Sandbothe, Kansas State

Tori Dilfer, TCU

Emily Hill, Texas Tech

Brooke Kanas, Texas Tech

Katy Keenan, Texas Tech

All-Big 12 Rookie Team

Rachel Langs, Kansas

Gloria Mutiri, Kansas State

élan McCall, TCU

Logan Eggleston, Texas

Brionne Butler, Texas

Brooke Kanas, Texas Tech

Leave a Reply


Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!