Two American Men’s Teams Advance Through Shepparton Qualifying

  0 Wendy Mayer | February 01st, 2018 | FIVB World Tour, News, Pro Beach


Thirteen men’s teams and 12 women’s teams faced off in two rounds on of qualifying on Wednesday with four each advancing to the main draw.

Two American men’s teams made it through qualification: Erin Zaun/Adam Roberts and Chase Frishman/James Avery Drost. Also advancing were Canadians Felipe Humana-Peredes/Cameron Wheelan and Australia’s Justin Schumann/Mitchell Wakefield.

Zaun/Roberts squeaked past a Canadian foe in the second round, 21-19, 21-19. Frishman/Drost meanwhile ousted a pair of Australian teams.

On the women’s side, three Japanese pairs advanced: Yui Nagata/Minori Kumada, Yukako Suzuki/Kaho Sakaguchi and Chiyo Suzuki/Reika Murakami. Dutch duo Katja Stam/Julia Wouters rounded out the qualifiers.

Main draw play begins at 4 p.m. ET Thursday with women’s action. Men’s play begins at 7:30 p.m. ET.

Men’s Qualifying Round 1

Simon Fecteau-Boutin/Hugo Rosso-Bonneau (Canada) def. Liam Kopp/William Hoey (Canada) 21-15, 16-21, 15-13

Felipe Humana-Paredes/Cameron Wheelan (Canada) def. Keisuke Shimizu/Takashi Tsuchiya (Japan) 21-19, 21-14

Mark Nicolaidis/Ky Landers (Australia) def. Pim Heurman/Thijs Nijeboer (Netherlands) 21-9, 21-16

Justin Schumann/Mitchell Wakefield (Australia) def. Gareth Mann/Bryce Poland (Australia) 21-14, 21-16

Chase Frishman/James Avery Drost (USA) def. Casey Grice/Tim Dickson (Australia) 21-10, 21-19


Men’s Qualifying Round 2

Eric Zaun/Adam Roberts (USA) def. Simon Fecteau-Boutin/Hugo Rosso-Bonneau (Canada) 21-19, 21-19

Felipe Humana-Paredes/Cameron Wheelan (Canada) def. Antonis Liotatis/Antreas Savvidis (Cyprus) 21-13, 21-12

Justin Schumann/Mitchell Wakefield (Australia) def. Richard Kilarupa/Moha Mea (Papua New Guinea)) 21-6, 21-10

Chase Frishman/James Avery Drost (USA) def. Mark Nicolaidis/Ky Landers (Australia) 21-17, 21-6


Women’s Qualifying Round 1

Mariota Angelopoulou/Daria Gusarova (Cyprus) def. Elenoa Sing/Sarah Strong (Australia) 21-6, 21-7

Katja Stam/Julia Wouters (Netherlands) def. Aimee Coleman/Tiaan Smith (Australia) 21-14, 21-13

Chiyo Suzuki/Reika Murakami (Japan) def. Emilie Glad Bak/Laerke Mygind Gronfeldt (Denmark) 21-15, 21-9

Yui Nagata/Minori Kumada (Japan) def. Sara Stief/Frederikke Schade Jensen (Denmark) 21-10, 21-11


Women’s Qualifying Round 2

Yukako Suzuki/Kaho Sakaguchi (Japan) def. Mariota Angelopoulou/Daria Gusarova (Cyprus) 21-17, 21-13

Katja Stam/Julia Wouters (Netherlands) def. Wai Yan Au Yeung/Yuen Ting Chi (Hong Kong) 21-11, 21-15

Chiyo Suzuki/Reika Murakami (Japan) def. Loti Joe/Sherysyn Toko (Vanuatu) 21-15, 21-13

Nagata/Kumada (Japan) def. Gaia Traballi/Agata Zuccarelli (Italy) 23-21, 23-21


Leave a Reply


About Wendy Mayer

Wendy Mayer

Wendy Mayer has worked in athletics media relations for the last 20 years. The Northwest Missouri State alumna is currently senior writer for after spending the last 15 years with Purdue athletics.

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!