30 Players Named to 2018 Volleyball Senior CLASS Award Watchlist

  0 Braden Keith | October 01st, 2018 | ACC, Big 12, Big East, Big Ten, Big West, College - Women's Indoor, Conference USA, Division I Mid-Major, Missouri Valley Conference, Mountain West, News, Pac 12, SEC, WCC

30 candidates have been named to the watchlist for the 2018 Senior CLASS Awards. Unlike the All-American awards, which focus on on-court play, the Senior CLASS awards focus on what they call “the four Cs”: community, classroom, character and competition. The organization gives out awards in 10 NCAA sports: men’s and women’s basketball, baseball, football, men’s hockey, men’s lacrosse, men’s and women’s soccer, women’s softball, and women’s volleyball.

To be eligible for the award, a player must be in their senior year of NCAA eligibility. The list will be whittled to 10 mid-season and placed on an official ballot, where media, coaches, and fans will vote for the winner. The winner will be announced during the 2018 NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball Championship in December in Pittsburgh.

In a twist-of-fate, no members of the 2017 VolleyMob First or Second-Team All-America rosters were juniors last season, meaning that none of them are seniors this season (the same is true for the expanded AVCA First-Team All-American list). Included on the list, though, are VolleyMob Third-Team All-Americans Mikaela Foecke of Nebraska, Ali Bastianelli of Illinois, and Samantha Seliger-Swenson of Minnesota. In addition, AVCA Second Team All-American Alexa Smith, AVCA Third-Team All-American Carly Skjodt; and AVCA Third-Team All-American Jordyn Pulter made the 2018 watchlist.

Illinois (Bastianelli, Poulter) and Creighton (Taryn Kloth, Jaali Winters) each put two players on the team.

Name Position School
Kamalani Akeo Setter University of Pittsburgh
Tami Alade Middle Blocker Stanford University
Rachel Anderson Middle Hitter Western Kentucky University
Ali Bastianelli Middle Blocker University of Illinois
Lauren Bruns Outside Hitter University of Dayton
Santita Ebangwese Outside Hitter Syracuse University
Gabrielle Eyl Libero Northeastern University
Mikaela Foecke Outside Hitter University of Nebraska
Cara Guthrie Outside Hitter UNC Asheville
Erica Haslag Outside Hitter Bradley University
Taryn Kloth Outside Hitter Creighton University
Haley Libs Outside Hitter Northern Kentucky University
AJ Lux Outside Hitter East Tennessee State University
Patricia Mattingly Setter U.S. Naval Academy
Alyssa Munlyn Middle Blocker University of Missouri
Courtney Pence Libero Illinois State University
Jordyn Poulter Setter University of Illinois
Colleen Reilly Middle blocker Wofford College
Michela Rucli Middle Blocker Hofstra University
Jess Schaben Outside Hitter Iowa State University
Samantha Seliger-Swenson Setter University of Minnesota
Carly Skjodt Outside Hitter University of Michigan
Alexa Smith Outside Hitter University of Colorado
Kirstyn Sperry Setter/Opposite Bryant University
Haley Templeton Setter University of Miami
Abby Thelen Outside Hitter Setan Hall University
Jaila Tolbert Right-side hitter Virginia Tech
Erica Treiber Middle Hitter University of Tennessee
Jaali Winters Outside Hitter Creighton University
Karley York Setter University of North Texas

Leave a Reply


About Braden Keith

Braden Keith

Braden Keith is the Editor-in-Chief and co-founder of VolleyMob.com. Braden's first foray into sports journalism came in 2010, when he launched a swimming website called The Swimmers' Circle. Two years later, he joined SwimSwam.com as a co-founder. Long huge fans of volleyball, when Braden and the SwimSwam partners sought an opportunity to …

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!