Americans Rosenthal/Crabb, Kolinski/Evans Move On to Qualifying Day 2

  0 Wendy Mayer | January 03rd, 2018 | FIVB World Tour, News, Pro Beach


  • Jan. 2-7, 2018
  • Sportcampus Zuiderpark; The Hague, Netherlands
  • Four Star
  • Schedule/Results

THE HAGUE, Netherlands – Sixteen teams, including Americans Sean Rosenthal and Trevor Crabb, remain in the running for a spot in the main draw of the Dela Beach Open after the opening round of qualifying on Wednesday.

Men’s qualifying action will resume on Thursday with eight teams moving on.

Crabb/Rosenthal bounced back after dropping the opening set against South Africa’s Grant Goldschmidt and Leo Williams, eventually pulling off the 12-21, 21-13, 15-9 victory.

“It is our first win of the year so we were a little sloppy,” Rosenthal said. “They came out and were serving well and we were shanking balls everywhere. But we came back and a win is a win.

“We passed the ball better (after the first set). We were shanking balls all over the place and that is how we were knocked out of this tournament last year. We were struggling with the pass and it is a lot different for us indoor. The ball moves differently and we just had to stay with it and work through it.”

Also through to the second round are fellow Americans Bill Kolinske and Miles Evans, who bested countrymen Reid Priddy and Jeremy Casebeer in straight sets.

Czech duo Ondreh Perusic and David Schwiener, who are seeking their best four-star result following a one-star title in 2017, are among the 16 teams in the second qualifying round.

Full qualifying results are below. The second round is set to begin at 3 a.m. ET Thursday with a trio of matches. Crabb/Rosenthal face Russia’s Vasilii Ivanov/Ilya Leshukov.


Men’s Qualifying Round 1

Travis Crabb/Sean Rosenthal (USA) def. Goldschmidt/Williams (South Africa) 12-21, 21-13, 15-9

Vasilii Ivanov/Ilya Leshukov (Russia) def. Barthelemy/Di Giantommaso (France) 21-17, 16-21, 15-12

Thomas Kunert/Philipp Waller (Austria) def. Nolvak/Tiisaar (Estonia) 21-19, 21-13

Ondrej Perusic/David Schweiner (Czech Republic) def. Gordieiev/Zhuravel (Ukraine)

Max Betzien/David Poniewaz (Germany) def. Winter/Horl (Austria) 17-21, 21-18, 15-12

Oleksii Denin/Sergiy Popov (Ukraine) def. Mermer/Giginoglu (Turkey) 21-11, 21-18

Jyrki Nurminen/Santeri Siren (Finland) def. Gregory/Sheaf (England) 21-19, 21-16

Arnas Rumsevicius/Lukas Kazdailis (Lithuania) def. Mol/Berntsen (Norway) 13-21, 21-19, 16-14

Aliaksandr Dziadkou/Aliaksandr Kavalenka (Belarus) def. Blom/deGroot (Netherlands) 21-18, 21-17

Nejc Zemljak/Danijel Pokersnik (Slovenia) def. Takahashi/Gottsu (Japan) 21-15, 21-17

Ruslan Bykanova/Maksim Hudyakov (Russia) def. Heidrich/Gerson (Switzerland) 21-16, 18-21, 15-10

Rihards Finsters/Aleksandrs Solovejs (Latvia) def. Bercik/Dumek (Czech Republic) 21-17, 21-15

Maxim Thiercy/Arnaud Gauthier-Rat (France) def. Urlu/Sagir (Turkey) 21-13, 21-14

Lazar Kolaric/Djordje Klasnic (Serbia) Koshikawa/Hasegawa (Japan) 21-18, 23-21

Ruben Penninga/Tom Van Steenis (Netherlands) def. Mullner/Schnetzer (Austria) 11-21, 21-18, 15-13

Bill Kolinske/Miles Evans (USA) def. Priddy/Casebeer (USA) 21-15, 21-13

Leave a Reply


About Wendy Mayer

Wendy Mayer

Wendy Mayer has worked in athletics media relations for the last 20 years. The Northwest Missouri State alumna is currently senior writer for after spending the last 15 years with Purdue athletics.

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!