Asian Senior Women’s Volleyball Championship tournament team

  0 Julie Haake | August 24th, 2017 | Asian Volleyball, International Volleyball, News

The 19th Asian Senior Women’s Volleyball Championship took place on Thursday, August 17th at the Alonte Sports Arena in Biñan City, Philippines. After losing the first two sets, Japan rallied back to defeat Thailand and claim the crown, 26-28, 20-25, 25-16, 25-16, 15-7. South Korea took third after handling the defending champions, China, in straight sets, 25-11, 25-18, 25-20.

Three Japanese players took home tournament team accolades, with Risa Shinnabe earning MVP honors. Mako Kobata was the best libero, and Iwasaka Nana was named second best middle blocker of the tournament.

Hattaya Bamrungsuk, Chatchu-on Moksri, and Nootsara Tomkom of Thailand earned spots on the tournament team as best middle blocker, second best outside spiker, and best setter, respectively.

South Korea tabbed one spot on the team with Kim Yeon Koung claiming best outside spiker honors.

Jin Ye was the lone player recognized from China, and was named the best opposite spiker of the tournament.

The Philippines were also represented by second best libero and De La Salle University alum, Dawn Macandili.


In This Story

Leave a Reply


Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!