Crabb/Gibb, Crabb/Bourne Among 8 Pool Play Title Winners in Las Vegas

  0 Wendy Mayer | October 18th, 2018 | FIVB World Tour, News, p1440, Pro Beach

FIVB/P1440 Las Vegas Open

The eight men’s pool play titles were decided on Thursday with top seeded Americans Taylor Crabb/Jake Gibb picking up two wins to top Pool A.

  • Pool A: #1 Crabb/Gibb (USA)
  • Pool B: #2 Anders Mol/Christian Sorum (Norway)
  • Pool C: #19 Trevor Crabb/Tri Bourne (USA)
  • Pool D: #4 Grzegorz Fijalek/Michal Bryl (Poland)
  • Pool E: #5 Alexander Brouwer/Robert Meeuwsen (Netherlands)
  • Pool F: #11 Pedro Solberg/Bruno Schmidt (Brazil)
  • Pool G: #7 Paolo Nicolai/Daniele Lupo (Italy)
  • Pool H: #9 Viacheslav Krasilnikov/Oleg Stoyanovskiy (Russia)

Two of the eight matches which decided pool champions went to tiebreak, with Mol/Sorum rallying past Dutch pair Jasper Bouter/Christian Varenhorst (18-21, 21-18, 15-9) and Brouwer/Meeuwsen topping Italy’s Marco Caminati/Enrico Rossi (21-12, 20-22, 15-11).

Crabb/Bourne, which began the tournament in the qualifying rounds, knocked off No. 3 Pablo Herrera/Adrian Gavira 21-17, 21-19. 

Pedro Solberg/Bruno Schmidt upset No. 6 seed Ahmed Tijan/Cherif Younousse 21-17, 21-18.

Krasilnikov/Stoyanovskiy edged past eighth seeded Latvians Martins Plavins/Edgars Tocs 21-14, 23-21.

The eight pool winners earn a free pass to the second elimination round.

In the opening round of pool play, six of the 16 matches went the distance.

Crabb/Gibb, Pedro Solberg/Bruno Schmidt, Plavins/Tocs, Krasilnikov/Stoyanovskiy, Caminati/Rossi and Americans Ryan Doherty/Billy Allen survived to move on to the title matches.

Doherty/Allen fell to Fijalek/Bryl 21-18, 21-19 in their second pool play match.

Of the four remaining American teams, two more punched their ticket to the first knockout round with third-place match wins.

Miles Evans/Bill Kolinske, the only remaining qualifying team besides Crabb/Bourne to make the knockout round, rebounded from a tiebreak loss to Plavins/Tocs (19-21, 22-20, 15-13) with a 2-1 win over Poland’s Jakub Szalankiewicz/Maciej Rudol (24-22, 19-21, 17-15).

Casey Patterson/Stafford Slick fell to Brazil’s Gustavo ‘Guto’ Carvalhaes/Saymon Barbosa 21-14, 21-19 Friday morning, but recovered with a 21-17, 15-21, 15-13 win over Italy’s Tiziano Andreatta/Andrea Abbiati.

In the other elimination matches, Reid Priddy/Jeremy Casebeer fell to Serbia’s Stefan Basta/Lazar Kolaric 22-20, 21-16 after dropping a 21-12, 21-12 decision to Mol/Sorum earlier in the day.

Sean Rosenthal/Chase Budinger were edged by Ondrej Perusic/David Schweiner in tiebreak (21-19, 18-21, 15-13) after dropping a 21-14 21-17 match to Brouwer/Meeuwsen in their Pool E opener.

Two other elimination matches were decided in tiebreak. Chile’s Marco Grimalt/Esteban Grimalt rallied past France’s Youssef Krou/Edouard Rowlandson (14-21, 21-19, 15-11), while Canadians Grant O’Gorman/Ben Saxton edging past Argentina’s Nicolas Capogrosso/Julian Azaad (21-16, 18-21, 15-11).

Leave a Reply


About Wendy Mayer

Wendy Mayer

Wendy Mayer has worked in athletics media relations for the last 20 years. The Northwest Missouri State alumna is currently senior writer for after spending the last 15 years with Purdue athletics.

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!