Hawaii’s Rosenmeier/Cowell Move on to USAV Beach Quarterfinals

  0 Wendy Mayer | May 12th, 2017 | College - Men's Indoor, EIVA, MIVA, MPSF, News

USAV Collegiate Beach Championships

Day 2 of the USA Volleyball Collegiate Beach Championships saw pool play wrap up for each of the three men’s pools, A through C. Of the 12 men’s teams, the top two teams out of each men’s pool will advance, the highest of the third-place finishers (according to point ratio) will advance. A play-in match between the next two third-place finishers based on point ratio will determine the final single-elimination bracket spot.

Hawaii’s Brett Rosenmeier and Colton Cowell recorded another straight set win, dominating Mount St. Joseph’s Brett Cooper and Alex Vohland 21-13, 21-12 to cruise to the top spot in Pool C.

Nathan Vander Meer and Logan Webber of Davenport and Cincinnati Christian defeated UC Irvine’s Grant Friedman and Scott Stadick in straight sets in the other Friday morning match.

Rosenmeier/Cowell and Vander Meer/Webber advanced to the quarterfinals, while Cooper/Vohland earned a spot in the playoffs with a chance to move on to the quarterfinals.

Rosenmeier and Cowell played for the Rainbow Warrior indoor team, which advanced to the NCAA semifinals. Cooper and Vohland play for Division III’s Mount St. Joseph, which advanced to the MCVL title match. UC Irvine’s Stadick was an AVCA honorable mention selection.


Pool C Results, May 12

Nathan Vander Meer/Logan Webber (Davenport/Cincinnati Christian) def. Brett Cooper/Alex Vohland (Mount St. Joseph) 21-16, 21-11

Brett Rosenmeier/Colton Cowell (Hawaii) def. Grant Friedman/Scott Stadick (UC Irvine) 21-13, 21-12


Final Pool C Standings

Rosenmeier/Cowell 3-0 (6-1 in sets)

Vander Meer /Webber 2-1 (5-2 in sets)

Cooper/Vohland 1-2 (2-4 in sets)

Friedman/Stadick 0-3 (0-6 in sets)

Leave a Reply


About Wendy Mayer

Wendy Mayer

Wendy Mayer has worked in athletics media relations for the last 20 years. The Northwest Missouri State alumna is currently senior writer for Volleymob.com after spending the last 15 years with Purdue athletics.

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!