Japan Places Three Teams in Tuan Chau Open Semifinals

  0 Wendy Mayer | May 11th, 2018 | FIVB World Tour, News, Pro Beach

Tuan Chau HaLong Open One Star

The semifinals are set for Tuan Chau Island One-Star with three of the four pool play winners advancing. Top seeded Sayaka Mizoe/Suzuka Hashimoto, No. 2 Yui Nagata/Minori Kumada and No. 12 seed Yukako Suzuki/Kaho Sakaguchi will represent Japan. No. 5 seed Sofia Starikov/Noy Chorin of Isreal claimed the fourth spot, besting No. 3 seed Sara Olivova/Karolina Rehackova of the Czech Republic.

Suzuki/Sakaguchi went to tie-break to claim their spot in the podium race, edging Thi Thanh Tram/Nguyen Thi Mai of Vietnam 21-19, 18-21, 15-6.

Starikov/Chorin played through the Round of 12, topping Nai-Han Kou/Pi Hsin Liu (Chinese Taipei), before upsetting the Czech duo, winning both in straight sets.

Nagata/Kumada will face Starikov/Chorin at 9 p.m. ET.


Suzuki/Sakaguchi will take on Mizoe/Hashimoto at 10 p.m. ET.


The podium matches are set for 3 a.m. and 4 a.m. respectively.




Round of 12

Maria Tyndeskov/Line Trans (Denmark) def. Fanny Lindstrom/Sara Malmstrom (Sweden) 21-10, 21-19

Thi Thanh Tram/Nguyen Thi Mai (Vietnam) def. Ya-Hsuan Yu/Tzu-Yi Pan (Chinese Taipei) 21-19, 21-14

Sofia Starikov/Noy Chorin (Israel) def. Nai-Han Kou/Pi Hsin Liu (Chinese Taipei) 21-17, 21-19

Helle Sondergard/Simone Okholm (Denmark) def. Michal Barannik/Anita Deev (Israel) 23-21, 21-19



Sayaka Mizoe/Suzuka Hashimoto (Japan) def. Maria Tyndeskov/Line Trans (Denmark) 21-17, 25-23

Yukako Suzuki/Kaho Sakaguchi (Japan) def. Thi Thanh Tram/Nguyen Thi Mai (Vietnam) 21-19, 18-21, 15-6

Yukako Suzuki/Kaho Sakaguchi (Israel) def. Sara Olivova/Karolina Rehackova (Czech Republic) 21-13, 21-16

Yui Nagata/Minori Kumada (Japan) def. Helle Sondergard/Simone Okholm (Denmark) 21-10, 21-11

Leave a Reply


About Wendy Mayer

Wendy Mayer

Wendy Mayer has worked in athletics media relations for the last 20 years. The Northwest Missouri State alumna is currently senior writer for Volleymob.com after spending the last 15 years with Purdue athletics.

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!