Scarbrough/Davis, McNamara Twins Among Bangkok One-Star Pool Winners

  0 Wendy Mayer | May 11th, 2018 | FIVB World Tour, News, Pro Beach

Bangkok One-Star

Pool play champions were crowned and half of the quarterfinal berths were awarded on Friday at the Bangkok One-Star.

Standing atop the leaderboard on the women’s side were Americans Bree Scarbrough/Aurora Davis (Pool A), Germany’s Anna Behlen/Sarah Schneider (Pool B), Norway’s Zylstra Hanne Haugen/Janne Pedersen (Pool C) and Canada’s Megan McNamara/Nicole McNamara (Pool D).

Scarbrough/Davis outlasted top seeded Cubans Mailen Deliz/Leila Martinez in tiebreak after dropping the opening set, then won the pool with a straight set victory.

View this post on Instagram

Not the prettiest picture but we just took down the #1 seed in the tourney in 3! By far the hottest tournament I have ever played in, but we battled through to get the WIN. @auroradavis2 played out of her mind. So excited to keep balling out here @fivbvolleyball Thailand! 1 more in pool play before bracket play begins. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ #beachvolleyball #volleyball #fivb #fitness #happy #jolyn #optimumbeachteam #optimumbeach #athlete #positivevibes #sunshine #nolimitmentality #avp #tattoo #bikinilife #optimimumbeachpro #ball #oakley #bikini #flex #arms #jolynclothing #avp #fitgirls #fitlife #abs #travel #success #winning

A post shared by Bree Scarbrough, DPT (@breeavp) on

Behlen/Schneider coasted through two straight set wins, save a 24-22 Set 1 score in their second match.

Pedersen/Zylstra started the day with a three-setter, falling 21-12 on their opening stanza, before winning four in a row.

The McNamara twins fought through a three-set affair with Spain’s Maria Carro/Paula Soria to take Pool D with a 16-21, 21-17, 15-10 victory.

Other than the four pool winners, the eight remaining teams move on to the Round of 12 late Friday night into early Saturday morning. The teams represent Cuba, Japan, Hong Kong, Latvia, Lithuania, Spain, Sweden and Thailand.

On the men’s side, Aleksandr Kramarenko/Taras Myskiv (Russia), Tim Dickson/Marcus Ferguson (Australia), Takumi Takahasi/Yusuke Ishijima (Japan) and Florian Schnetzer/Daniel Mullner (Austria) won their respective pools.

The Russians had to overcome a set one loss to Thailand’s Nuttanon/Sedtawat in the their second match. The Aussies went the distance in both matches, hanging on for three-set wins over Katsuhiro Shiratori/Yuya Ageba (Japan) and Armin Dollinger/Simon Kulzer (Germany).The Japanese and Austrian pairs each won in straight sets.

Moving on to the Round of 12 are two teams each from Germany and Japan, and one each from Hong Kong, Spain, Sweden and Thailand.

Round of 12 action is slated to begin at 12:40 a.m. ET Saturday and continue through 1:30 a.m.


Women’s Pool Play

Pool A

Marta Ozolina/Agnese Caica (Latvia) def. Helene Rancourt/Sarah-Jeanne Meunier-Bedard (Canada) 21-18, 21-8

Bree Scarbrough/Aurora Davis (USA) def. Leila Martinez/Maylen Tamayo (Cuba) 19-21, 26-24, 15-12

Scarbrough/Davis (USA) def. Ozolina/Caica (Latvia) 24-22, 21-13

Leila/Maylen (Cuba) def. Rancourt/Meunier-Bedard (Canada) 22-20, 21-14


Pool B

Ayumi Kusano/Takemi Nishibori (Japan) def. Swowaros Tangkaeuo/Jiraporn Sonsupap (Thailand) 21-8, 21-8

Anna Behlen/Sarah Schneider (Germany) def. Wai Yan Au Yeung/Ting Chi Yuen (Hong Kong) 21-10, 21-11

Behlen/Schneider (Germany) def. Kusano/Take (Japan) 24-22, 21-17

Yeung/Yuen (Hong Kong) def. Tangkaeo/Jiraporn (Thailand) 21-11, 21-16


Pool C

Urte Andriukaityte/Irina Zobnina (Lithuania) def. Anchana Changkham/Chanthira Khanok (Thailand) 13-21, 22-20, 15-10

Janne Pederson/Hanne Haugen Zylstra (Norway) def. Tadva Yoken/Sigrid Simonsson (Sweden) 12-21, 21-17, 15-11

Pedersen/Zylstra (Norway) def. Andriukaityte/Zobnina (Lithuania) 21-15, 21-11

Yoken/Simonsson (Sweden) def. Anchana/Chanthira (Thailand) 21-19, 21-13


Pool D

Megan McNamara/Nicole McNamara (Canada) def. Pronsuda Kristana/Yodsaphat Pakham (Thailand) 21-15, 21-17

Paula Soria/Maria Carro (Spain) def. Sakurako Fujii/Samaa Miyagawa (Japan) 21-15, 21-16

McNamara/McNamara (Canada) def. Soria/Carro (Spain) 16-21, 21-17, 15-10

Pronsuda/Yodsaphat (Thailand) def. Sakurako/Miyagawa (Japan) 21-19, 22-20


Men’s Pool Play

Pool A

Aleksandr Kramarenko/Taras Myskiv (Russia) def. Tsz Ho Kelvin Lau/Pui Lam Wong (Hong Kong) 21-16, 21-14

Nuttanon Inkiew/Sedtawat Padsawud (Thailand) def. Leo Williams/Mthokozisi Mndingi (South Africa) 21-16, 21-13

Aleksandr Kramarenko/Taras Myskiv (Russia) def. Nuttanon Inkiew/Sedtawat Padsawud (Thailand)  17-21, 21-17, 15-8

Tsz Ho Kelvin Lau/Pui Lam Wong (Hong Kong) def. Leo Williams/Mthokozisi Mndingi (South Africa) 21-15, 21-18


Pool B

Armin Dollinger/Simon Kulzer (Germany) def. Phanupong Thanan/Phichakon Narathon (Thailand) 21-17, 26-24

Tim Dickson/Marcus Ferguson (Australia) def. Katsuhiro Shiratori/Yuya Ageba (Japan) 22-20, 12-21, 15-12

Tim Dickson/Marcus Ferguson (Australia) def. Armin Dollinger/Simon Kulzer (Germany) 21-17, 19-21, 20-18

Katsuhiro Shiratori/Yuya Ageba (Japan) def. Phanupong Thanan/Phichakon Narathon (Thailand) 21-18, 21-14


Pool C

Martin Appelgren/Simon Boman (Sweden) def. Kitti Duangjinda/Narongdet Kangkon (Thailand) 20-22, 21-11, 15-12

Takumi Takahasi/Yusuke Ishijima (Japan) def. Yoshiumi Hasegawa/Keisuke Shimizu (Japan) 21-16, 22-20

Yoshiumi Hasegawa/Keisuke Shimizu (Japan) def. Kitti Duangjinda/Narongdet Kangkon (Thailand) 21-18, 21-15

Takumi Takahasi/Yusuke Ishijima (Japan) def. Martin Appelgren/Simon Boman (Sweden) 22-20, 21-10


Pool D

Florian Schnetzer/Daniel Mullner (Austria) def. Paul Becker/Eric Stadie (Germany) 21-8, 21-17

Alejandro Huerta/Javier Huerta (Spain) def. Surin Jongklang/Adisorn Khaolumtarn (Thailand) 18-21, 21-19, 15-12

Florian Schnetzer/Daniel Mullner (Austria) def. Alejandro Huerta/Javier Huerta (Spain) 21-15, 21-19

Paul Becker/Eric Stadie (Germany) def. Surin Jongklang/Adisorn Khaolumtarn (Thailand) 22-20, 21-14


Leave a Reply


About Wendy Mayer

Wendy Mayer

Wendy Mayer has worked in athletics media relations for the last 20 years. The Northwest Missouri State alumna is currently senior writer for after spending the last 15 years with Purdue athletics.

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!