Russian Super League Set for Best of Three Series in 2017-18

  0 Wendy Mayer | August 24th, 2017 | European volleyball, International Volleyball, News, Russian League

The Russian Volleyball Federation has changed its women’s Super League structure to match that of the European Volleyball Federation at the behest of its membership.

The league finals will now be played to three victories, with matches set for April 16, 17 and 21, with the if-necessary dates of April 22 and 26. Previously the finals were played in a best of five series. Dinamo Moscow has won the last two Super League titles (2015-16, 2016-17). Moscow edged Dynamo Kazan 3-1 in the 2016-17 championship finals.

The men’s Super League playoffs are slated for March 10 to May 5. The quarterfinals will be played March 10, 17 and 24, with the semifinals to follow March 31, April 7 and 14. The Super League title will be decided in the finals April 21, 22, 27, 28 and May 5. Zenit Kazan is the four-time defending champion (2014-17).

Leave a Reply


About Wendy Mayer

Wendy Mayer

Wendy Mayer has worked in athletics media relations for the last 20 years. The Northwest Missouri State alumna is currently senior writer for after spending the last 15 years with Purdue athletics.

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!